Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Design Help >

Design Help

Design Help

Old 03-22-2013, 01:29 PM

Default Design Help

Hi,
I have been asked to make a 'memory' quilt for a sibling of a little girl who has died.
I have collected fabrics that represent things the child enjoyed.
My problem is this: how do I make sense of all the colors and patterns.My plan is to use the Accu-cut cupcake die--with 2 coordinating fabrics I can make 4 different blocks. The little girls favorite color was purple, but not all the fabrics have purple in them. If I make 28 cupcake blocks, I need 28 filler blocks. Should I use the purples for those? White? Purple 9-patch? I have attached pics of the fabrics.
I have collected them from lots of places--(don't even ask how much I paid for that fat quarter of Monsters Inc fabric!)
Do I just go for the whole scrappy idea and forget trying to make things coordinate? I am not good at random scrappy--only planned scrappy!
I would appreciate any suggestions or ideas! I need to get started soon!
thanks so much,
kim
Attached Thumbnails roos-quilt-1.jpg   roos-quilt2.jpg  
Old 03-22-2013, 01:33 PM

How old is the sibling? You could just do a scrappy match up quilt, with two blocks of each fabric for her to find and match (unless, of course, she's a teenager or something!)
Old 03-22-2013, 02:00 PM

When you say you are going to make cupcake blocks, you mean it will be a square of the cupcake fabric or you will appliqué a cupcake on it? I just googled cupcake quilts & there's alot of ideas there, maybe that might help?
https://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&s...mg.e2p17uuGiJM
Old 03-22-2013, 02:07 PM
Power Poster