Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: did I mess up my machine

  1. #1
    Senior Member IngeMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    605
    I hit a dense spot making a pillow case and bent the needle on my Janome 6600. now it's making a scraping sound when I sew :thumbdown: . I guess it's time for a tune up anyway, so I'm taking it in next week. I just hope I didn't mess it up too bad :cry:

  2. #2
    Super Member isnthatodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    2,296
    :(

  3. #3
    Super Member hopetoquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,866
    Dumb question but did you change the needle? Sometimes if you turn the machine off and on again it also "resets" iteslf.

    I would also try cleaning out the bobbin area. Sometimes when I hit a thick area and the needle breaks, it is because the bobbin isn't moving properly b/c the bobbin area is full of lint.

  4. #4
    Super Member AlwaysQuilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,704
    Blog Entries
    3
    Oh oh. I hope it's not anything expensively wrong.
    Maybe you can find an answer here--
    http://sewvacdoctor.com/cate.asp?categoryID=19

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    7,881
    Blog Entries
    14
    Good luck

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,667
    Blog Entries
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by hopetoquilt
    Dumb question but did you change the needle? Sometimes if you turn the machine off and on again it also "resets" iteslf.

    I would also try cleaning out the bobbin area. Sometimes when I hit a thick area and the needle breaks, it is because the bobbin isn't moving properly b/c the bobbin area is full of lint.
    What she said. I hope it doesn't need to go to the Dr.

    Good luck.

  7. #7
    Super Member kittenquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Currently,Missouri
    Posts
    1,290
    I had some problems with mine and thought I would need to take it in, but tried one last thing - rethreaded the machine. Works like a charm now!

  8. #8
    Super Member sweetpea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    southeast Kansas
    Posts
    1,456
    it like haveing a sick kid when one of our machine is down. hope it got well soon.

  9. #9
    Super Member rwquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    In the west that I love!
    Posts
    3,375
    Blog Entries
    4
    So sorry! It's never a good thing when our machines aren't humming along beautifully, is it?

  10. #10
    Senior Member IngeMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    605
    thanks for the tips! I had already changed the needle, turned on and off, cleaned the bobbin case. Just tried to rethread. Still scrapes. :-( :-( :-(
    it's due a service anyway. I just wanted to wait for the right moment, I guess this is it :mrgreen:

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.