Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Dimmer switch for FMQ

  1. #1
    Junior Member Joselake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    105
    I read on a topic that someone plugged in a dimmer switch and then plugged their sewing machine into the switch and you can control the needle speed while you are FMQ. Well last night I bought a dimmer switch and tried to use it but my machine kept faulting out. I have a Singer Q7469 electronic that I do my FMG on and I don't want to short it out. Anyone else have the same problem or any others? Maybe I shold try it on my Singer 401.

  2. #2
    Super Member sparkys_mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,955
    Quote Originally Posted by Joselake
    I read on a topic that someone plugged in a dimmer switch and then plugged their sewing machine into the switch and you can control the needle speed while you are FMQ. Well last night I bought a dimmer switch and tried to use it but my machine kept faulting out. I have a Singer Q7469 electronic that I do my FMG on and I don't want to short it out. Anyone else have the same problem or any others? Maybe I shold try it on my Singer 401.
    That sounds risky to me. I don't think I'd do that.

  3. #3
    Senior Member SWEETPEACHES's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    854
    Quote Originally Posted by Joselake
    I read on a topic that someone plugged in a dimmer switch and then plugged their sewing machine into the switch and you can control the needle speed while you are FMQ. Well last night I bought a dimmer switch and tried to use it but my machine kept faulting out. I have a Singer Q7469 electronic that I do my FMG on and I don't want to short it out. Anyone else have the same problem or any others? Maybe I shold try it on my Singer 401.

    I remember that post. In fact, I still have a note on my desk to buy one. hmmmm Maybe I'll hold off on that now.

  4. #4
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    30,296
    Blog Entries
    12
    variations in power can be damaging to your machine. i would not use the dimmer switch without checking with the machine manufacturer.

  5. #5
    Super Member donnajean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Holland, PA
    Posts
    3,875
    I would not do that to my computerized machine. They are built to work on a certain amt. of power. Even most of the newer light bulbs are not meant to be used on dimmer switchs.

  6. #6
    Super Member Crqltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,744
    Blog Entries
    2
    Wouldn't that be hard on the motor?

  7. #7
    Super Member ssgramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    2,108
    I think that would be similar to the refrigerator issue we had when we first moved into this house.

    The home inspector pointed out a couple of outlets that needed GFCI's installed. One was for the fridge. The sellers had an older top freezer fridge. Our new side-by-side w/ice & water in the door was not keeping cold enough. After several calls the repairman talked to the manufacturer to be told the computer wouldn't work with the GFCI. We had to put a dedicated outlet behind the fridge to solve the problem.

    So, pretty much makes since that you wouldn't want the power fluctions on ANY kind of computerized equipment.

    Now a vintage machine is a whole 'nother story - just like the seller's vintage fridge LOL

  8. #8
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,258
    Quote Originally Posted by donnajean
    I would not do that to my computerized machine. They are built to work on a certain amt. of power. Even most of the newer light bulbs are not meant to be used on dimmer switchs.
    I agree, my electrically inclined brother says this MAY be fine for older machines but NOT for the computerized ones.

  9. #9
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,768
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oh my goodness, I would be so afraid to do that to any of my machines; it just doesn't sound right. :shock:

    Isn't there a speed adjustment on your machine? Most machines have them. I put mine on half speed when doing FMQ and then put my pedal to the metal. Works great.

  10. #10
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,027
    I would not use a dimmer or a router speed control on any machine that has any computerized functions in it.

    I wouldn't hesitate to use one on a vintage all-mechanical machine - one that has no electronics/computer in it. (Your 401 is one of those)

    If you have a jackrabbit machine, a router speed control is a magic piece of equipment for helping you to learn FMQ. No matter how hard you press the pedal, the machine is only going to go as fast as your pre-set speed. Cheap and easy way to get the hang of coordinating all that activity. :)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.