Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Electric Quilt 7 - To buy or not to buy

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Ok played with it for a few hours on Saturday and I think I have the basics down, I recreated most of the quilts I have made and got most to work with the exception of sashed blocks within a border.

    Now........ sell me as to why I should purchase EQ7 instead of keeping EQ5. One thing I don't like about 5 is putting my own fabrics in, tried scanning, tried photographing and tried using images from online and none gave me the prints in the right size or aspect ratio, is this better in EQ7???? I don't want to spend that much on it if its going to do the same as 5 for me, but if it has some new features that are worth the price I could be persuaded.....

  2. #12
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    597
    Read this. http://electricquilt.com/online-shop/electric-quilt-7 All the features listed here are improvements over EQ6 (let alone 5). Almost has me convinced in to update from 6 to 7 - especially the ability to define a block size to drag/drop in the custom setting.
    Everything I've heard says 6 is far superior to 5, in ease of use and new features. Can't speak to the scanning fabrics. I've done it, but it was kind of hit/miss for scale so I don't know if it's easier than 5.

  3. #13
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,633
    Blog Entries
    1
    I've quit scanning and photographing altogether because there are so many fabric manufacturers now who have free image files available for download/import from their websites. Makes it so much easier!

    Another thing - if you get stuck on a project, the help forums are AWESOME. I've never had to wait longer than 12 hours for an answer.

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by kristakz View Post
    It is definitely possible in EQ6. Work on the block, then go into "block -> Drawing Board Setup" and set the block size. You can also adjust the snap grid here. I find it a bit annoying - you have to set the number of snap points, rather than saying, for example, snap every 1/4". But it does work, you just have to adjust it every time you change the block size.
    Looks like this is possible in EQ5 as well, making some of my frustrations ease! Sometimes the lines I am drawing on a non-square block don't save when I click save to sketchbook, still trying to figure out why.

    Does anyone know if there is a checklist that shows that differences between EQ5 and EQ7?

  5. #15
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by mm_dancer View Post
    Looks like this is possible in EQ5 as well, making some of my frustrations ease! Sometimes the lines I am drawing on a non-square block don't save when I click save to sketchbook, still trying to figure out why.
    I have the same problem in EQ6. I know that if the lines aren't connected at both ends, they disappear. But I've had lines disappear for no good reason I could see. Or, if I draw directly over them they disappear too. Has me mystified.

    I haven't seen a checklist. I hope someone has one, because it would be really nice to know what the real differences are between versions.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.