Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Elementary school fundraising quilt >

Elementary school fundraising quilt

Elementary school fundraising quilt

Old 01-20-2012, 08:36 AM

Default Elementary school fundraising quilt

I need some ideas... I am putting together a quilt for our school's fundraiser. I will be supplying squares of muslin to 21 classrooms. Other than having the kids sign the blocks, what are some other ideas I can give the teachers for their squares? I am hesitant to suggest class pictures, I really don't want the expense of the printable fabric sheets. I have fabric markers, what are some other products I can suggest or supply to the classrooms?
Thanks for your help.
Old 01-20-2012, 08:59 AM

One year when I was a teacher, I had my students draw pictures showing some of the things we had learned during that school year. They drew the pictures on white paper, then held them over a window and retraced the design on the back with fabric crayons. Then I took the pictures and ironed them onto white fabric, stitched them together in a 4 patch and put them together with sashing. That little quilt brought in over $250 in a school auction, and that was 17 years ago!! I would suggest you decide on the size you want your blocks, draw a square that size leaving a frame for the seam allowances, and have the students draw the pictures on the paper first. You can erase on paper, if a mistake is made(spelling or just a miscue), a new piece of paper is much easier to work with than trying to fix it on fabric. Then, after the teacher has OK'd the student's drawing, have them trace over the design on the back with fabric crayons. They are doing most of the work for you & then you just have to find a pleasing arrangement and stitch it together. Also, if you have access to "room moms", I'd enlist their help.