Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Elna Excellence 730/ Janome Horizon 8200  questions >

Elna Excellence 730/ Janome Horizon 8200 questions

Elna Excellence 730/ Janome Horizon 8200 questions

Old 12-08-2015, 09:56 AM

Default Elna Excellence 730/ Janome Horizon 8200 questions

Hi all,
In my quest for a larger harp space I've found a Used Elna Excellence 730 that looks pretty good and it's in my price range. None of the current machines that have 10" or more harp space are anywhere near to my price range so I had about given up. I'm told that this is the same as the Janome Horizon 8200.

What I'm interested in hearing is how well these machines hold up over time and with lots of use. Also, if there are any quirks that you just don't enjoy encountering when FMQ or piecing.

I've got a lot of experience (years) doing both on both a vintage bare bones mechanical Brother machine and on a relatively new Brother electronic machine and the only reason I'm looking for something else is to increase the harp space to something that will more gracefully handle the larger quilts that I'm now doing so I'm not looking for advice about how to go about FMQ.

Thanks,
Rob
Old 12-08-2015, 11:52 AM
Power Poster

I don't know, but I looked up a few reviews online for you:
http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/machine/5576
http://forum.missouriquiltco.com/pro...e-horizon.html
Couldn't find a lot of negatives about it.
Old 12-08-2015, 01:23 PM

I am not sure how much difference the 740 is from the 730, but I have the 740 and it is awesome. I have had it about 3 years now, and it is a workhorse.
Old 12-08-2015, 02:21 PM
Power Poster

Hi Rob. Have you given it a test drive around the track? DSM are much like a car, you got to get comfortable and take it for a whiz around the block. When I went shopping for my Bernina, I actually took a small quilt sandwich to test out various machines. Have fun.
Old 12-08-2015, 03:43 PM