Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Embroidery Machines and Quilting >

Embroidery Machines and Quilting

Embroidery Machines and Quilting

Old 12-06-2013, 08:09 PM

Default Embroidery Machines and Quilting

I am trying to decide if I need an embroidery machine or not. I am wondering, once you get your quilt sandwiched together, can you do simple embroidery for the quilting. What is the pro and cons of doing this? I am trying to justify buying an embroidery machine and what features I should consider. Thanks for any input you have.
Old 12-06-2013, 10:18 PM

Hmmmmm. I'm a newbie to embroidery machines and think of them as tools to embellish my quilt tops. I'd not thought of them as quilting devices.

I'm as eager to learn as you are, Jannie!
Old 12-06-2013, 11:07 PM

You can. But it is a lot of work. This one I finished earlier this year. I call it my 'snow' quilt. Guess I need to go find it and pull it out now that we have snow.

I use poly batting because that is what we have here (Poland) but with cotton batting it would be easier to quilt with the embroidery machine.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]450330[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]450331[/ATTACH]

and

[ATTACH=CONFIG]450332[/ATTACH]

The patterns are from www.emblibrary.com
Attached Thumbnails 03b-2013.jpg   03c-2013.jpg   03a-2013.jpg  
Old 12-07-2013, 03:47 AM

That us a beautiful quilt.
Old 12-07-2013, 04:20 AM

I really like that quilt!
Old 12-07-2013, 04:33 AM

Pro's- lots of cute and traditional single pass quilt designs and looks really good when finished

Con's- depending on quilt size a lot of work; hooping and unhooping 3 layers and aligning each time. The lining up each design can be tricky and time consuming each square will have to be centered and it takes up a lot of space, again depending on quilt size. You need a table to support the weight of the quilt while its running or the weight will pull and distort design or worse break machine