Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: ? EQ 5, 6, 7 and Quilters Design Studio (Quiltsoft)

  1. #1
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,574
    Blog Entries
    31

    ? EQ 5, 6, 7 and Quilters Design Studio (Quiltsoft)

    My EQ 5 Doesn't work on my upgraded PC.

    Upgrading to EQ7 will cost between 180.00 and 200.00 bucks Even on E-Bay and Amazon they are about the same $.

    I found this Quiltsoft program @ a $ of 50.00. I'm sure it is very basic but at this time I don't do very detailed or complicated piecing.

    Does anyone use the Quiltsoft system? It used to be called Quilters Design Studio.

    I wanted to use my program, EQ5 to play with the moose quilt I am working on and discovered it no longer works.

    Any info you might help me with would be appreciated.
    Thanks and always,
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,660
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you contacted EQ and asked about upgrading from EQ5 to EQ7? I find it hard to believe it is 180-200 for an upgrade. There is a difference between EQ5 and EQ7, and if you really like using EQ, it may serve you to contact EQ and speak to someone about your issues and installing on a new computer, as well as the upgrade. I have talked to Penny via email on a few issues with installation on different computers, and about EQStitch, and she is wonderful in solving problems quickly. You have already purchased EQ, I would think there is something they could do besides having you pay the same cost for an upgrade as someone who is just starting out in EQ and purchasing EQ7 at $189.

  3. #3
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    3,973
    Blog Entries
    1
    There's no discount from EQ5 to 7. Only from 6 to 7. So you basically have to just buy the program. I went from EQ5 to 7.

    I used to have Quilt Design Wizard and after having EQ5, I don't think I'd want to go back to it. Not sure how it compares with the Quilter's Design Studio.

    eta: i'm curious why EQ5 isn't working on your new system. I know it works on windows 7 and I've read that it works on windows 8.
    Last edited by gale; 05-09-2013 at 06:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Member Emma S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Roseburg, OR
    Posts
    2,195
    UBE: I am right there with you. I love my EQ but I only have 5 and am now retired. The purchase price for the upgrade would be a real slice from my quilting budget. Don't think there is an answer I want to hear, but I will be following this thread.

  5. #5
    Super Member KarenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    Posts
    1,741
    Blog Entries
    8
    Quilt in a Day is currently offering an internet rebate on EQ7. Price is $142.46 and free shipping.

    http://www.quiltinaday.com/shoponlin...ay.asp?i=28132

  6. #6
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    3,973
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you have the means, i would jump on that. I don't believe it goes on sale very often. I think that's less than the preorder price I paid when it first came out.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,361
    I think you can upgrade from EQ5 to EQ6 for about $100. I have EQ 6 and don't plan to upgrade to 7. Maybe that's an option for you.

  8. #8
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,039
    Just do the EQ 6 upgrade!! Here is one left on Amazon :

    http://www.amazon.com/Electric-Quilt.../dp/B001G5HTPW

    My EQ 6 runs nicely on Win7. I did do the upgrade to EQ7 ... because EQ6 has limited installs and I was out of them where EQ7 is unlimited installs.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  9. #9
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,574
    Blog Entries
    31
    Thanks every one for your input. I think my Problem is going to be that I have used the restricted installs on the EQ5. But now to upgrade I don't know if I can go to either EQ6 or 7 without having the EQ5 installed.

    I contacted EQ support and waiting to hear from them.

    Thanks every one. I didn't even think there was a limit on installing programs.
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  10. #10
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    6,574
    Blog Entries
    31
    Wow! My DH/ superman saved the day for me again. He got the EQ5 to load. I don't know what he did but he is my hero today, and every day.

    Thanks again every one.
    peace
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.