Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: eq6 question

  1. #1
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    I've been reading different threads on EQ6, as I'm REALLY considering biting the bullet and getting it. I've read that EQ6 is limited to the amount of computers that it can go on, but no one has stated how many, that I've seen. Can someone please tell me how many computers you can put this on?

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Super Member Boston1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    East Oklahoma - pining for Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,345
    Sis and I were talking about that just the other day. I think she said the limit is three. That scares me. What happens if you have it on your desktop and your laptop and then one of your computers crashes and you decide to get a new one? That is three right there. Not sure I like that idea. But I have EQ5 and will probably stick with that.

  3. #3
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,769
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bought the Dear Jane software recently and it says I can put it on 3 PC's. But it probably means that you can have it on 3 PC's at a time. If one PC crashes and you get a replacement, you'll still just have it on 2 PC's, right?

    I bought EQ5 years ago and can't find the software. And of course, it's not on this PC. :roll:

  4. #4
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    What besides the limited downloads is the reason for staying with eq5? Sometimes my processing is slow!! I guess I'm just a frugal individual and always look for the best for my money! It took me over a month to decide on what sewing machine I was going to get! :lol: :lol:

  5. #5
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    Quote Originally Posted by Quilter7x
    I bought the Dear Jane software recently and it says I can put it on 3 PC's. But it probably means that you can have it on 3 PC's at a time. If one PC crashes and you get a replacement, you'll still just have it on 2 PC's, right?

    I bought EQ5 years ago and can't find the software. And of course, it's not on this PC. :roll:
    Its weird about EQ5. Not too long ago I was looking at different design programs and I found eq5! Just went and looked and now I can't find it!

    Where are you in the NE?

  6. #6
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,365
    I believe the downloads are 4. However, I recently had a computer die and bought a new one. I emailed them and they sent a new code to use. Don't know how often they do that but I'd been having problems with my computers so they had gotten lots of emails from me!!!

  7. #7
    shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    So California
    Posts
    2,001
    My understanding is they limit only the amount of computers you can have it on at one time. I have it and love it. Go to the www.electricquilt.com web site. They have had a lot of questions about this and so they have info on their site on FAQ.

    It says 4 activations. But I read also as long as you don't try to reregister, you can load it on as many as you need. But haven't tried. they have forums you can check out and you can send a message to Tech support.

  8. #8
    Power Poster Mousie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16,935
    Quote Originally Posted by sewcrafty
    I've been reading different threads on EQ6, as I'm REALLY considering biting the bullet and getting it. I've read that EQ6 is limited to the amount of computers that it can go on, but no one has stated how many, that I've seen. Can someone please tell me how many computers you can put this on?

    Thanks!!
    I got it four Christmas...and it either says 3, but thinking it said four? will have to look at book again.
    The rate I'm using it, right now, will be a while before i have used it on 3 computers!
    Gonna have to declare an ALL-EQ6 day of the week and study it.:thumbup:

  9. #9
    shaverg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    So California
    Posts
    2,001
    Their add on their website says 4 activations.

  10. #10
    Senior Member AtHomeSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pacific NW USA
    Posts
    897
    I agree that I believe it is four activations. The one thing I would add is that I have both EQ5 and EQ6, and EQ6 is a much better version. It has video tutorials right within the program which are wonderful.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.