Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: EQ7 border question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    southern IL
    Posts
    741

    EQ7 border question

    I put one of the borders in a layout around a panel. I finished the borders the way I wanted but now I can't figure out how to get the size of those diamonds and rectangles in the first border. I thought I could print off a template for these pieces. Anyone have advice for me?

  2. #2
    Senior Member ThreadHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Org. Texas now Florida
    Posts
    681
    Are you going to applique the diamonds on? Measure the sides of the quilt, go to EQ and bring up the same size and borders. Put diamonds and rectangles like you want in the border, then print out templates.
    Are you going to piece the border, then add it to the quilt? Good Luck
    Syl

  3. #3
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, Oregon
    Posts
    10,701
    If you use blocks in your border, you should be able to print them out with templates or rotary cutting information, etc. However, if you're using one of the border selections from the dropdown menu on the borders tab, I couldn't find any way to print out information about the size of the elements in the border (diamonds, triangles, whatever). You might call EQ and ask if there's a way to do it. I'd love to know too - so if you find out, could you let us know?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    southern IL
    Posts
    741
    Dunster, you are correct in what I am doing. I selected the border from the drop down menu. I thought it would allow me to print the information about the size of the elements. So I am not alone in my trial here. If I figure it out, I will post here.

  5. #5
    Senior Member kristakz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    640
    If you put a block into one of the segments of the border, it lets you print templates etc for that. So, create a blank block and put it in your sketchbook (just go into "Edit block". And without drawing anything, click the button to add to sketchbook. It will ask if you want to keep blank block in the sketchbook - say Yes). Now, go back to your quilt. Put the blank block into each segement of your border. Now, select a segment (just like selecting a block) and under File, you should now have the option to print - block, template, rotary cut, etc. Voila - an exact template or rotary cut instructions for your diamonds.

    Edit: Even easier. Just colour the border. As soon as I did that (in EQ6) it lets me print instructions for each "block" in the border. Note that I don't think you can print the whole border at once - you have to do each segement individually.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    southern IL
    Posts
    741
    kristakz, I tried your suggestion in the edit and it worked. Thanks a lot. I had tried several different things and it didn't work for me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member ThreadHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Org. Texas now Florida
    Posts
    681
    Go to the HELP in EQ and key in borders
    Syl

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.