Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
EQ7 - is it worth it? >

EQ7 - is it worth it?

EQ7 - is it worth it?

Old 01-18-2013, 08:22 AM

Default EQ7 - is it worth it?

I have been thinking of getting the EQ7, but I have some doubts. I don't want to get it and find out that it
was just a pretty program, but not really useful.

Can you help me by giving your opinion? I don't know of anyone that has it, so I can't really get their opinion. Thanks!
Old 01-18-2013, 08:30 AM

Here's my take. I have seen members of this board do some beautiful things with EQ. It appears they can just whip things together very quickly. For me, I can not get to first base. I do not understand it at all - Have had it for a couple of years now. Even hitting the tutorials on the program do not give me a better understanding. I could have used it a million times if I just knew how!!
Old 01-18-2013, 08:38 AM
Power Poster

I'm not too good with visulizing color placement, so I like to drop the colors into a quilt to see what they are going to look like. You can actually scan your fabric, but I've found that their fabric library fits my needs. it's more like where the lights and darks will go. I have also designed a couple of quilts and hope to do more of that. I will say that I have a long background using various drawing programs. I find it easy to use.
I found that quilt-in-a day has the best price by far:

http://www.quiltinaday.com/shoponlin...ay.asp?i=28132
Old 01-18-2013, 08:50 AM
Power Poster

i got eq5 when it came out. i LOVE it! i don't buy any patterns... just draw my own. and like peperprincess, i love it for color placement. it takes just a minute to change your colorways. if eq7 is too pricey for you, try looking for a used eq5. i don't recommend eq6 as it has limited lives. also, our member Rhonda, has done tutorials here on the board on how to use each of them.
Old 01-18-2013, 08:53 AM

Originally Posted by cindyb View Post