Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Fabric Estimates in EQ

  1. #1
    BlueChicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gone
    Posts
    2,411
    Has anyone had experience with designing quilts in EQ and how much fabric is required? It seems to WAY overestimate how much fabric will be required.

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have only used it as a guide...and then I buy extra :roll: Just in case ya know?? LOL I have to have enough and then some or I am just not happy :D:D:D

  3. #3
    BlueChicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gone
    Posts
    2,411
    Yeah, I usually like to make sure I have more than enough too. But I'm doing a project next year that wants between 28 and 38 yards. The changes I make that take it up to 38 just don't seem enough to add in an extra 10 yards of fabric. I'm wondering just how heavily it overestimates.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    its over estimating what you need. i find the best way to start at a realistic number is to color the sashing in a totally different fabric (one that i never plan to use) this way the sashing can be factored out.

    so far that rule has worked well for me - i'm typically left with 1-1.5 yards of extra fabric for each color at the end of making the quilt - which is a good buffer for mistakes.

  5. #5
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    I have had the same problem. The estimates for DD quilt were way off. Oh well, I have some more solids for my stash.

  6. #6
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    1,944
    KLUE...
    Excellent response!
    K

  7. #7
    Rose Hall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Lynchburg, VA
    Posts
    757
    I'm glad I'm not the only one with this problem. I have EQ5. Just curious--are you using EQ6? I was wondering if this problem was corrected with the updrade.

    Rose Hall

  8. #8
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    The fabric is way too much in EQ. I don't know how the calculations are factored in but it would be better to leave that out if it can't be a closer estimate.

  9. #9
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,965
    Quote Originally Posted by Rose Hall
    I'm glad I'm not the only one with this problem. I have EQ5. Just curious--are you using EQ6? I was wondering if this problem was corrected with the updrade.

    Rose Hall
    I have EQ 6 and it overestimates too. Klue is right though, my stash is growing because of that and that's not bad.

  10. #10
    Super Member Boston1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    East Oklahoma - pining for Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,351
    I only did this once, AFTER I had figured it out myself. When I did it in EQ, it came out to just about what had figured also.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.