Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fabrics in EQ 7

  1. #1
    Senior Member Aubrey'sQuiltingCreations's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gaylord, KS
    Posts
    390

    Fabrics in EQ 7

    I have a question about adding fabrics into my EQ 7. Can one add fabrics to my library in EQ 7 from pictures I can find online and have saved to my computer? As I want to design a quilt but I do not have the fabrics I am wanting to use on hand. All the information I can find online and in the book just talks about scanning fabric to add not from previously saved pictures. Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NE IL
    Posts
    501
    I don't have the program, but here's my guess.......When you scan a fabric it would become a pdf file. If you save the picts you have from the internet as a pdf, then you'd be able to put them into the program.

    Hopefully someone knows for sure, but that's my guess!
    **************
    Ginger
    ~stitching one thread at a time~

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    34,120
    Blog Entries
    18
    in EQ5, the fabrics should be saved as a bmp at 72dpi with 256 colors. they also suggested reducing the size of the scanned fabric by 50% in a picture resize program.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?



  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,009
    You can copy the fabric from the manufacture's site. Many already have the swatches set up ready to import to a pdf file to your computer. Then you'll be able to load that file into your fabric files in EQ7. I called tech support and they told me how to do it. I imported a lot of jelly rolls from Moda. And a lot of new batiks. You have to name each file and only so many fabrics fit into that file. But it wasn't hard, and I'm not that computer savy.

  5. #5
    Senior Member omaluvs2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    839
    Definitely. I just right click on the picture and "save as" to my EQ file that I called "monthly library". That's where I download the monthly libraries EQ provides in their newsletters as well. I mostly save as "jpeg".

    After you save them, you have to "import" them into your libraries folder in your EQ program, copy and paste them into the "my libraries" folder and then "save" them to that folder. Once that is done, you just add them to your sketchbook as needed.

    The only time I scan fabric is when its a large print fabric and the scale doesn't translate from the web pictures accurately.

  6. #6
    Super Member QuiltingKrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Statesville, NC
    Posts
    1,608
    Blog Entries
    3
    Ask Rhonda on the QB who is posting the EQ tutorials! I'm sure she would know how to do it!
    Lisa B in NC
    Quilting is my Happy Thought!
    http://www.quiltingkrazy.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.