Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
First project >

First project

First project

Old 01-17-2011, 08:03 AM

I am brand new to quilting and ready to start my first project. What is your favorite "first project" for practice and actual project to finish so that I won't get bogged down with complicated piecing that I can't understand. I have been sewing since jr hi and buy fabric whenever I see something that I like so have a big stash. I also have collected quite a few patterns and "tools of the trade". Just don't know what to look for when choosing a pattern. This site is sooooo great. I want to make everything I see. Love all the threads and the comments. And, I bought a feather weight as a result of reading about them here. I also have 3 other machines: an old Singer from the 50's, a singer from the 70's and a treddle inherited from my MIL.
Old 01-17-2011, 08:05 AM

http://www.modabakeshop.com/2009/02/...aby-quilt.html

Try this one, I think it's easy enough for a beginner to do.
Enjoy quilting, it is a very rewarding hobby.
Old 01-17-2011, 08:10 AM
Power Poster

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-6460-1.htm
This link is a good starting place. The best tool I have learned to use is the "SEARCH" feature at the top of this page. Click on SEARCH then put in what you are looking for.
Lots of photos and information. The next place I go is "GOOGLE" It is amazing what will come up. Enjoy your quest:)
Old 01-17-2011, 08:10 AM

Choose what looks good to you. A Log Cabin is a good start with strips at least two inches wide - better 2 1/2. Be sure to use a pattern that precuts the strips. The ones where you lay it on, sew it and then cut can become less than square too easily.
Old 01-17-2011, 08:13 AM