Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: First time using walking foot and SID- problem

  1. #1
    Super Member Joeysnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana, PA
    Posts
    1,007
    Blog Entries
    1
    On my practice block I am using the walking foot and trying to SID-first time ever. My problem: Harriet Hargrave says to aim for 8-12 spi. My stitch length is 2.5 but the stitches are so tiny. I changed the stitch length and kept moving it to 4.0 to get a larger stitch that I liked. Now on the backing I have loops every so often. Does this mean the top tension is off? I hate to mess with the tension because the machine just came back from being serviced and I just know I will goof it up again. Should I adjust the top tension though in order to eliminate the loops? TIA

    cotton thread on top and bottom and size 14 needle

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,232
    Tension need adjusting if you have loops.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,265
    sometimes you get the loops when you don't put your pressure foot down..and that's an easy mistake to make when working with thick fabrics/sandwiches...it's still a tension issue, but due to pressure foot not being down.

  4. #4
    Super Member JanetM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    At my LQS
    Posts
    2,349
    Are you allowing the walking foot to move your quilt? All you have to do is guide it, don't try to pull or push.

  5. #5
    Super Member CoyoteQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,306
    Did you thread your machine with the pressure foot down? When using a walking foot it is hard to tell if the foot is up or down sometimes. Make sure the upper thread is between your tension disks and re-thread your bobbin.

    First step is to always re-thread, then adjust tension.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harrison, MI
    Posts
    4,291
    I agree. Re-thread your machine & adjust the top tension.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    High Entropy Zone
    Posts
    1,244
    I had a machine at one time that would do the loop thing even when the pressure foot was down if whatever I was working on was too thick. It seemed to have an internal sensor that would limit pressure settings. Once past the mechanical limit it then thought the pressure foot was not in the down position. Could this be the problem? You might want to test a few not nice things as an experiment. I find that when I experiment I need to make sure I recreate conditions so piece some scraps together to make sure you have the same thicknesse, etc.

  8. #8
    Super Member sewcrafty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    3,962
    When I do anything with curves, I need to turn up the # for my tension 5-7. This has helped with my eyelashes.

  9. #9
    Super Member Joeysnana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana, PA
    Posts
    1,007
    Blog Entries
    1
    I increased the stitch length to 3.5. That seemed to do the trick. I am bookmarking all of your informative replies. Thanks so much for the help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.