Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Fixing errors

  1. #1
    Member Nanatoone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northwest Tn.
    Posts
    64

    Fixing errors

    Is there any easy way to fix skipped stitches and broke threads after you take quilt off frame?

  2. #2
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,946
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have a set of clamps that I bought at Menards on sale:
    http://www.menards.com/main/tools-ha...70320164051319
    I really try to look over my quilt before I take it off the frame, but sometimes I see something that I missed or really, really needs to be taken out & redone. I pin it to the top roller, roll it to the appropriate spot, then just use the clamps and some batting to hold it onto the other rail. Sometimes I can just clamp it to both rails. Depends where the problem area is.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    23,475
    I have fixed skipped stitches because the threads are still there. I take a hand needle and thread it with the same thread. I then "make the stitch" by putting the needle beside the top thread, go down through to the back, over the bottom thread and bring the needle up to the top on the other side of the top stitch, I then tie the ends together to connect the top and bottom threads and then use my easy thread needle to bury the hand needle thread. I can do several pretend stitches by running the hand needle along inside the sandwich. Is it easy no, but I have done it.
    For broken threads I would undo enough stitches until I had enough thread to tie and bury the ends. I would then continue the pattern on my sewing machine, knot the threads and bury the ends with my easy thread needles.

  4. #4
    Senior Member quiltedsunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    421
    I recently had to remove my quilt, un-pick and re-quilt. Like the other post, I pinned it to the take-up rail, rolled it to where it needed to be re-quilted, and float the quilt over the front rail. Towards the bottom end, I pinned the quilt to the front rail, but didn't roll it on.
    Annette in Utah

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    435
    I bought some heavy duty magnets and just attach it to the bars that way and do my repairs.

  6. #6
    Super Member Homespun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    McLoud, OK
    Posts
    7,532
    Quote Originally Posted by cheryl222 View Post
    I bought some heavy duty magnets and just attach it to the bars that way and do my repairs.
    I have had to do repairs and like this idea.
    Retired teacher, loving it.
    Love quilting also.

  7. #7
    Super Member MaryKatherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Guelph, On. -
    Posts
    1,299
    I have had good success this way. I loosely wind the quilt on to the take up bar and pin it to the leader on the back bar.
    marykayhopkins123.blogspot.ca

  8. #8
    Super Member joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    9,457
    Blog Entries
    1
    I try to look as close as possible for breaks and skips before I roll to the next area. If some as missed and not close to the edge I will pin it to the take-up bar and use the clamping tubes (hubby bought them for me for Christmas) clamp it to the backing bar. If they are close to the edge I will fix on my domestic.
    Joyce

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by cheryl222 View Post
    I bought some heavy duty magnets and just attach it to the bars that way and do my repairs.
    What are your bars made of? Mine are aluminum and magnets won't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.