Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: FMQ with tension issues

  1. #1
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    1,943

    FMQ with tension issues

    I have a Janome 6600, and have had a wonderful time with her since buying her over a year ago. Now...all of a sudden....I can't get the tension right on the backside of the quilt while fmq. I've tried rethreading (Connecting Threads cotton, top and bottom), new needle, cleaned out the bobbin case, tension dial at all points. Nothing is working. I still end up with the thread laying on the top of the backside fabric and dots of the top thread very visible. I am frustrated beyond belief. I've tried to set the speed at high, low and somewhere in between with no difference. I've tried going real slow with the fabric and all I end up with is very small stitches and the same issues on the backside. Somebody....PLEASE....tell me what I am missing? Is it something simple? Or is it time for some basic maintenance?

  2. #2
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,061
    Blog Entries
    2
    If there's a problem on the back, it's normally the top thread. It sounds like there is a piece of thread or lint or something in the tension disks. You can try unthreading, then turning the top tension disk down as low as possible, then floss with UNWAXED dental floss, or buttonhole twist thread.

    Also, remember to put the foot up when threading the machine, then down when threading the needle.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,192
    With my Bernina bobbin there is a tiny screw to adjust bobbin tension. Does your Janome have a bobbin screw? If so, mark where it is by the hand of a clock and try loosening it a bit at a time. If that does not help...because you know where it was to start with, you can then move it back and start adjusting it tighter.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    175
    Janome has a bobbin case for FMQ, and it is wonderful. It has the tension adjusted properly for the 6600. It's about $25, and worth every penny!! When doing FMQ on the 6600, I always set the speed to medium.

  5. #5
    Super Member ssnare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Arma, Kansas
    Posts
    3,347
    I have a janome Quilter's Companion and I have had trouble with FMQ ever since I bought it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.