Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Free motion quilting question >

Free motion quilting question

Free motion quilting question

Old 10-04-2010, 05:53 AM

I am very new to this?? Is there a certain thread that is better to use? Some of the cotton threads have broken?? And what size and kind of needle???
Old 10-04-2010, 05:58 AM

Sorry but I missed the fact that your question was about FMQ...my comment on threads is still appropriate, however. Regarding a needle - several quilters I know and have also read about use nothing but topstitch needles for their piecing and quilting - they have larger eyes and scarfs and accommodate many different kinds of threads..usually a 12 or maybe a sizw 14 would work.

There are many good threads on the market. I'd suggest purchasing the best you can...my experience is that Coats and Clark is generally of lesser quality and breaks more easily, tho many on the board really like it. Look for long staple threads, which create less fuzz and break less, Egyptian cotton is also good, but these are also the more expensive types, so you need to try out several. It also appears that some machines work better with some threads..tho I've never experienced that myself.
Old 10-04-2010, 06:00 AM

I am not an expert and still in the process of learning FMQ myself, but I believe whatever thread you normally use for quilting should work for FMQ, I've using cotton and don't have a problem with thread breaking, I also use size 80/12 needle. I hope this helps.

If your thread keeps breaking, maybe the top tension is off? Do you have the machine feed dogs lowered?
Old 10-04-2010, 06:09 AM

Another question? I have read where you use the same color thread in bobbin and on top? How do you decide what color to use? Said your top has a lot of white but you are using a pink back?? Is there any rule of thumb as to picking out the color to use?
Old 10-04-2010, 07:25 AM
Power Poster