Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Frixion pens and batiks don't mix >

Frixion pens and batiks don't mix

Frixion pens and batiks don't mix

Old 03-17-2014, 07:14 PM

Default Frixion pens and batiks don't mix

I love the frixion pens and have never had any problem using them until now. I marked a simple quilting design on a baby quilt. The marks disappeared completely on the regular cotton when I put the iron to it, but it left a faint light mark on the batik. I'm a novice at FMQ and it was only noticeable where I went off the lines. I don't use batiks as a rule, but am curious if anyone here has had this problem or could it have been this particular batik. I didn't test it on the batik before I marked the whole quilt---my bad.
Old 03-17-2014, 07:25 PM
Power Poster

The white line can happen on lots of other fabrics, not just batiks.

Look very closely at your other fabrics that you have used it on. If they were light, there is probably a ghost line there, but is faint and thus why you do not see it. I've even seen it on white-on-white fabrics .... but yes, for the better part you do not see it.

As you now recognize ... testing before use, is important, to avoid problems!
Old 03-17-2014, 07:28 PM
Power Poster

They can leave a faint line on some dark fabrics not just batiks.
Old 03-18-2014, 01:22 AM

i've had the faint line disappear after washing....if you're not washing, then try getting it wet.
Old 03-18-2014, 02:44 AM
Power Poster

since a baby quilt will be laundered a lot, the lines will disappear - it is normal for frixon pens to leave those lines on darker/more saturated colors- batik or not.
Old 03-18-2014, 03:26 AM