Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
fusible batting, what did I do wrong? >

fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

Old 11-24-2014, 08:02 AM

Default fusible batting, what did I do wrong?

This is my first time using fusible batting, it's Hobbs 80/20. I ironed it all out nicely last night and stitched a couple of rows of ditching. This morning when I went to start quilting again I discovered that the layers are coming unstuck. Was my iron not hot enough, too hot???? Do I press it again or should I get out the pins?
Old 11-24-2014, 09:06 AM

I've only used fusible batting a couple of times in table runners--I am not a fan. I did learn not to start quilting on it right away. Let the item set for a few hours so the glue has time to really set. Did you start quilting just after fusing it? If I were you, I'd try repressing it, let it sit awhile and see what happens. Then if it still doesn't stick, get out those pins.

Be careful and check the item carefully before you start to stitch. I was smoothing mine and felt something between the layer--felt very hard and shaped like an Advil tablet. I opened the layers and it was a glob of glue. Imagine what would have happened if I'd hit that with my needle.
Old 11-24-2014, 10:02 AM
Power Poster

I spread out my backing on my basement floor old carpet, smooth on the batt and then the top. I iron from the center out with about a 5 second pause at each press working any extra quilt top to the edges, this fuses the quilt enough to flip the whole sandwich upside down. I then work on pressing the back from the center out working any extra backing to the edge. I do the back after the front because it is more important that it is fused perfectly because I can't see it when FMQ. Occasionally I will need to re- iron the sandwich edges by the time I get to them from manipulating the quilt through the machine. I put safety pins along the sandwich edges to prevent them from peeling at the machine.