Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Fusible Web/Fusible interfacing >

Fusible Web/Fusible interfacing

Fusible Web/Fusible interfacing

Old 09-15-2011, 02:13 AM

I am very new to applique and having so much fun. I've been using wonder under fusible web. I recently bought a pattern for a baby blanket that calls for fusible interfacing. I tried it using fusible web and that didn't work out as you could see the fabric underneath through the applique piece. Can you use fusible interfacing the same as the fusible web? I keep reading something about turning something inside out or something....I'm confused. I'd like to do it like fusible web if I can.
Old 09-15-2011, 03:33 AM

It's not the same thing. One way to solve this is when you cut out the fusible for the shape, cut out the center of it, leaving 1/4" or so to the inside of the drawn line - kind of like a frame. The edges will be fused, but the center won't be. You could then carefully cut the background fabric away leaving just the applique.

If you scroll down on this link, you will see a picture of what I am trying to describe.

http://www.connectingthreads.com/tut...Prep__D47.html
Old 09-15-2011, 03:41 AM
Power Poster

fusable interfacing is a different product from paper backed fusable where both sides are adhered to fabric-
fusable interfacing has a fusable added to one side of it-
when you want a finished edge on appliques you can place a fusable interfacing on top of the shape (right sides together-as in the right side of the fabric to the fusable side of the interfacing) stitch all the way around the shape- then you cut a small slit in the interfacing and turn it all right side out- now your shape has a finished edge and the back is fusable to place on your background.
sometimes interfacings are used to add a bit of stability to thin fabrics, or to line totes, purses- add an extra layer