Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: GRRrrr! Bought EQ7 from a lady, trouble activating

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    23

    GRRrrr! Bought EQ7 from a lady, trouble activating

    I bought EQ7 from an older gal who wasn't using it. Loaded it on my laptop and the activation says no more activations available. I've emailed tech support. I was looking forward to playing with it this weekend. I hope someone checks emails over the weekend. Anyone know if the folks at EQ check emails on the weekend? Or know a work around for this issue?

    Thanks,
    Vickie

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    4,357
    Sounds like it has been loaded on several computers already - you bought the program but it may not be able to be activated. Good luck - let us know what tech support tells you.

  3. #3
    Super Member Quilty-Louise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hoping my SS won't know it is me sending them their SS package
    Posts
    2,634
    Blog Entries
    1
    With EQ7 there is unlimited activations, but it can only be activated
    on 2 machines at a time.

    Contact the lady you purchased it from and ask her to deactivate it
    on her computer.

    Hopefully that will help you some.

    Good luck and have fun once you start using it.
    Louise - Expecting Ya-ya to be in April 2015. I collect mugs from the U.S. and around the world . Also collect homemade pincushions, sewing/quilting themed fabrics, and fabric in general.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    4,357
    That is so nice to know!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    23
    She said she deleted from her computer because she wasn't using it. I will have to wait on tech support. Just disappointing when you think you're gonna get to play with a new toy.

  6. #6
    Super Member nursie76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    North Central PA
    Posts
    5,637
    It has been a while since I used mine, but I believe you actually have to go online and sign in, then deactivate one computer before activating the program on another one. Just deleting the program from the computer isn't enough.
    Go confidently in the direction of your dreams...live the life you have imagined. Thoreau

  7. #7
    Super Member Knitette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The Granite City, Scotland
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by nursie76 View Post
    It has been a while since I used mine, but I believe you actually have to go online and sign in, then deactivate one computer before activating the program on another one. Just deleting the program from the computer isn't enough.
    If that doesn't work, she may have to actually uninstall the program on her computer. Many people think that if they delete a program it's gone - not so. Invariably only the icon or shortcut is removed. She would have to go in to the Start menu and go from there.
    Lang may yer lum reek.

  8. #8
    Super Member nursie76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    North Central PA
    Posts
    5,637
    Actually, EQ7 can be installed on as many computers as you like. However, it can be activated on only 2 computers at a time. The person that you bought it from would have to go into the program and deactivate her computer, thereby releasing that license and allowing it to be used on another computer. There is a video on the EQ site that explains it very well. My concern is that she uninstalled it on her computer without deactivating that computer first. Here is the link to the video. http://electricquilt.com/support/act...n-error-codes/ Best of luck.
    Go confidently in the direction of your dreams...live the life you have imagined. Thoreau

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    23
    I think that is probably what she did. She is elderly so I don't want to bug her with it. I will just wait until Monday. I already emailed the company. I am sure they will be able to help. I just hope they don't want to charge me an arm and a leg.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    23
    I heard from the company today. They fixed the problem. Emailed a transfer of ownership form for the seller to complete which she did and I am all activated and up and running! They didn't charge me anything either!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.