Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Guild for hand quilters >

Guild for hand quilters

Guild for hand quilters

Old 10-15-2013, 11:37 AM

Default Guild for hand quilters

Does anyone in NC know of such a guild? I'm a member of a guild now and the ladies are wonderful but they all machine piece and send their work out to a LAer. It's hard for me to get excited about meetings when all the presentations are for machines. I can't share anything with them. I would love to find a group of ladies who hand piece and hand quilt. I'm relatively new at this and would love to have some direction and tips on hand quilting. Any ideas?
Old 10-15-2013, 12:18 PM

Perhaps this list be might be helpful in your search.
http://www.ncqsi.org/ncguilds.html
Old 10-15-2013, 07:21 PM

Location: Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.

I'm surprised to hear this as, no matter how many guilds I've been a member in, in several states, I've ne3ver come across a guild that was ALL machine work.

might try talking to your guild president or membership chairperson about how the programs they present each month are chosen.
If there is a newsletter, you might ask to insert a request for a brief meeting following the next guild meeting in which any members who handquilt or applique could meet each other.
You might bite the bullet and show your work at each Show and Tell as a way of introducing the handwork subject and ask for critiques/suggestions and ask if anyone else does hand work.....piecing, quilting, applique, redwork.

I hope you find your way and the support you need. If you'd like to make your way up Hwy. 29 north to Lynchburg, VA, on the first or third Fridays of each month, Patches and Pieces Guilt Club will welcome you with open arms.

Jan in VA
Old 10-15-2013, 07:46 PM