Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
hand quilting ideas >

hand quilting ideas

hand quilting ideas

Old 06-04-2015, 09:09 PM

Default hand quilting ideas

Hello everyone...I have finally finished hand piecing my Dresden Plate. It is sandwiched and waiting on me to start handquilting. I am stumped as to how to quilt this. I do have a lap hoop and my betweens are threaded and scissors are sharp!! Now What? I need ideas on how to hand quilt a Dresden Plate! I am looking forward to your ideas and pictures..if possible! Thank you in advance!

missgigglewings

PS: Be gentle..this is my first time! (For hand piecing and handquilting!) I did look up Borntohandquilt, but she has not been on-line since July 2014. I hope she is ok...Her work is beautiful!
Attached Thumbnails dresden-plate.jpg  
Old 06-05-2015, 04:27 AM

On something like this I would most outline. I would outline the dresdan plates and either outline the squares or quilt a line down the center. I am not a fancy quilter and there isn't much room to do much. I guess you could quilt an overall pattern but you have lots of seams to get through. I might put a small flower in the middle of the dresdan or I might just outline the circle a couple of times. How do you see it? Yes, I think I would outline the dresdans and hope they puff just a bit and do something in the center. It's yours to envision. It's a great looking quilt and you get to decide what you see.
Old 06-05-2015, 05:03 AM
Power Poster

Lovely Dresden top! It depends on how fast a hand quilter you are. I am VERY slow so I would outline stitch inside the yellow center and then around the edge of the plate. I might stitch 1/4 inch inside each blade so I don't have to go over any seams and just run the thread and needle in the sandwich at the narrow end between the blades so I wouldn't have to knot often.