Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hanging loop for a potholder

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42

    Hanging loop for a potholder

    I'm just starting to make potholders and am not sure when, how or where to add the hanging loop. Do you just add it to the corner after you've already added your binding? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,485
    Blog Entries
    10
    Can you make it part of the binding ? On the corner you want it , go to the corner then draw up a loop and then go back down to the corner , does that make sense ?
    To keep your mind fresh- learn one new thing a day !

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    42
    Sort of--I just use the binding strip, make a loop, then come back and stitch it down in the corner?

  4. #4
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,485
    Blog Entries
    10
    That is what I have done that way you don't have end of the fabric showing
    To keep your mind fresh- learn one new thing a day !

  5. #5
    Super Member valleyquiltermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    MO.
    Posts
    2,689
    Yes thats right Hutch farm.
    http://www.skillpages.com/DonnaValleyquiltermo
    Sweet Dreams come from under Cozy Quilts made with love.
    Life is short, take time to enjoy it. Play with your kids and g-kids,
    and do what you can for others.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,930
    Blog Entries
    1
    I usually sew a carbone ring on the back!

  7. #7
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    2,994
    That is what I do too. Start your bias tape in the middle of the side then when you get to the corner that you want the loop just pull up the loop and then fit the bias back down on the other side and keep going with the bias. A round one you do the same, I usually start the bias and go around and go over the top of the starting end that is stitched down, make the loom come back down and stitch, then cut. HOpe that helps a bit.

    Quote Originally Posted by sharon b View Post
    Can you make it part of the binding ? On the corner you want it , go to the corner then draw up a loop and then go back down to the corner , does that make sense ?
    Sewbeadit
    Montesano, Washington

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Minnesota
    Posts
    955
    MY sil told me no hangs their potholders any longer...but I can't make one without a loop on it..it just doesn't seem right.
    I usually make a it out of the fabric of the potholder and layer it in between.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Camping Angel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Golden State
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by jhoward View Post
    MY sil told me no hangs their potholders any longer...but I can't make one without a loop on it..it just doesn't seem right.
    I usually make a it out of the fabric of the potholder and layer it in between.
    I never make mine with hanging loop, either. They seem to stick out like a sore thumb. (I tend to cook haphazardly.) If I were to make potholders to sell or give away, I probably would make a hanging loop as was described earlier in this thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.