Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hate Binding Quilts! >

Hate Binding Quilts!

Hate Binding Quilts!

Old 12-13-2011, 09:00 AM

Default Hate Binding Quilts!

I love to quilt but hate doing the binding. I have tried 3 methods (including the Binding Thingy) and I keep reverting to
the old tried and true overlap method. But then I don't like the way it looks unless I hand sew it. I made 6 quilts for the Holidays and still have 4 more to bind. I have worn a blister on the middle finger of my right hand because I am thimble challenged. How do others cope with binding blues?
Old 12-13-2011, 09:16 AM

Well, I'm just learning how to apply binding entirely by machine. Someone suggested making a bunch of potholders to practice, so that is what I will be doing. I have bursitis at this time of the year, so there is no way I can apply it by hand this winter. I wouldn't be able to even hold a rotary cutter due to the swelling.
Old 12-13-2011, 09:16 AM

I really don't mind binding once I get going on it. But for some reason I seem to put it off when my quilt is finished. I have several waiting for binding right now!
Old 12-13-2011, 09:25 AM

I here you on this one. I hate binding also. In fact I am know to hold off on binding something when I know my Mom is coming for a visit in a short time frame. She likes to do hand work and there has been times that I have asked her to hand sew on the binding for me. When this option does not work, I have found that I like the "Thimble-It" product. Here is a link to Hancock Fabrics website that offers it to let you know what it is. http://www.hancockfabrics.com/Thimbl...VVviewprod.htm.

It sticks to the spot on your finger where the needle would go. I do not like or can use thimbles and this is the only thing that has saved my finger when there is a LOT of binding to do. Hope this helps.
Old 12-13-2011, 09:33 AM