Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 84

Thread: Have you changed your rotary blade recently?

  1. #1
    Super Member jillaine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    California Girl exiled in DC
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ah sweet joy!
    Why on earth did I wait so long to change thee?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    90
    I am so frustrated after I sent in two pxs of my first tee-shirt quilt. I followed the directions carefully (or so I thought) and all I see when I look into "My posts" is a thumbnail px of the quilt and a download to do for the back of the quilt. The thumbnail is not elargeable. I have no idea what when wrong. Worse yet, when I went so proudly to find my quilt picture, all I see are beautiful LARGE pictures of other quilts. Does anyone have any ideas what I might have done wrong or is it because I took the px with an iphone and sent it to my email on the computer????

  3. #3
    Moderator Jim's Gem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Camarillo, California
    Posts
    35,279
    I probably need to change mine. though it is not skipping or anything. I have a Martelli cutter and Martelli blade in it and I have cut out probably 20 quilts with this same blade!!! Lasts so much longer than when I was putting Olfa blades in it!!

  4. #4
    Super Member Murphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    8,906
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by jillaine
    Ah sweet joy!
    Why on earth did I wait so long to change thee?
    I think we must all do that (laughter). Maybe we just love how it feels when we change the blade and out cutting goes like a whiz. Thanks for sharing.

  5. #5
    Senior Member gunny148's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Aiken SC
    Posts
    876
    I was taught to the old way to cut blocks pencil,sissors,and a templet of cardboard... look how far we have come.

  6. #6
    -k
    -k is offline
    Member -k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Santa Fe, NM
    Posts
    78
    I have been holding out...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    colorado
    Posts
    164
    There's nothing like cutting with a new blade!

  8. #8
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Some will want to choke me but I change the rotary blade at the first skip! I don't want the hassle of cutting twice when all I need is to use a new blade. I use the Grace blade sharpener before every cutting session so I'm always sharpening a sharp blade. When it skips I don't mess with sharpening it any longer.

  9. #9
    Super Member TonnieLoree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    La Grande, OR
    Posts
    2,459
    Thanks for the reminder. I need to change my blade, but must sharpen it. I use the Dritz rotary sharpening system. It's been a life-saver.

  10. #10
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,461
    Quote Originally Posted by jillaine
    Ah sweet joy!
    Why on earth did I wait so long to change thee?
    I just changed mine last week ... and oh my gosh.... it was heaven again. I had the same reaction ... why did I wait so.... long.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.