Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help! fusible batting problem. Ruined quilt. >

Help! fusible batting problem. Ruined quilt.

Help! fusible batting problem. Ruined quilt.

Old 03-12-2014, 09:45 AM

Default Help! fusible batting problem. Ruined quilt.

Does anyone know how to get the glue from fusible batting off the front of the quilt? I was unfortunate enough to get a defective roll. When I ironed the layers together some of the adhesive, well a lot actually, a whole long line from one end of the quilt to the other, came through to the front.
I have never used fusible before, so didn't realize this was a problem. I assumed it would come out in the wash. So I continued on with quilting it and binding it.
Well, it didn't come out. So now the quilt has black streaks on it.
Anyone know how to get it out and what recourse do I have?
Old 03-12-2014, 09:51 AM

Oh no! Sorry I don't have a solution, but I'm sure someone will have one for you before long. I just wanted to say that I feel so bad for you. That's just terrible
Old 03-12-2014, 10:06 AM
Power Poster

Could you contact the manufacturer and ask for a remedy? I know Hobbs is very good about getting back to customers on issues that involved their battings. Maybe the manufacturer of your batting will as well.
Old 03-12-2014, 10:12 AM

Sorry to hear you had a problem. We have all been there with some kind of boo boo! That's how we learn not to do THAT again!

Did you contact the manufacturer? They may have a solution. I'm sure you are not the only one it has happened to.

Also, somewhere, I read that you should not use fabric softener when using fusible web, that it might "unstick" the web. Maybe that would work? I may be wrong, but I don't see where it could hurt much to try it.

If and when you find the solution, please let us all know. Good luck.
Old 03-12-2014, 10:25 AM
Power Poster