Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Help! How Do I Use Retayne With The New HE Washers?

  1. #1
    Super Member Ps 150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    1,291

    Help! How Do I Use Retayne With The New HE Washers?

    I keep forgetting that my new HE washer has to be treated differently than other washer styles. The new washers do not fill up with water like the traditional ones did. Normally, I just add vinegar to the wash to set the colors, but batiks bleed so much easier so I wanted to use Retayne. Retayne instructions read,

    "Estimate amount of water needed to cover cotton fabric. Fill Machine to this level with HOT (140*) water. Add 1 teaspoon Retayne per yard of cotton fabric. Add dry cotton fabric. Set machine for a 20 minute wash. Use cool water during rinse cycle and dry at once."

    How would you proceed since the water does not fill up? Since it doesn't fill up, I can't just add the dry cotton to the treated water. Have any of you used Retayne with the new washers?
    "Love is not love which alters when it alteration finds, or bends with the remover to remove."

  2. #2
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,813
    I use Retayne on the stove , that way I can make sure the water is really 140 degrees ( the mimium temp for Retayne to work). I have a old stainless Revere ware pot I use just for this purpose. Its important to keep the fabric moving in the solution for best results, a bit of a pain... but I would rather have the pain prior to making the quilt , than after disaster strikes.

  3. #3
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,616
    Blog Entries
    1
    You should not use Retayne in a front-loading HE washer; it does not fill up with enough water. Some people do fabric by hand in a large sink. If tap water is not hot enough, you can add boiling water. It's essential to have sufficient hot water for the Retayne process to work.

  4. #4
    Senior Member cavmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    798
    this is good to know. I have a couple of yards of red fabric that i tested with a wet paper towel and it bled ALOT! i was thinking of getting Retayne to set the color, but i also have a front load washer.. i guess i could try the sink.

  5. #5
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    4,612
    A few years back Retayne had a message on it stating not available in Calif. because of known carciogenics, I found this short article, not an alarmist, but just wanting to explain why I would never chose to purchase it again. http://www.pburch.net/dyeing/dyeblog...707/index.html

  6. #6
    Super Member Ps 150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    1,291
    My washer is a top loader, but it still doesn't fill up. DH is being too sweet and doing the fabric on the stove for me. I had a "surgical procedure" this a.m. so I'm lying down, trying to sit still.
    "Love is not love which alters when it alteration finds, or bends with the remover to remove."

  7. #7
    Super Member barri1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Woodmere, NY
    Posts
    1,373
    I've been thinking about how to do it, and I'm glad you guys are giving hints.. I don't think I have a pot big enough.. I'm just wondering if I can use the kitchen sink.. I have a deep sink that might do it, but am frid of ruining the stainless steel finish..
    Barri

  8. #8
    Super Member Ps 150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    1,291
    I think it would be fine to do it in the sink, as long as you rinse the sink out with bleach afterwards, considering the formaldehyde content. I'm using my biggest stainless steel stockpot and then washing it with bleach after all the fabric is out of the pot. I'm also going to rinse the fabric one last time in a hot water cycle in the washer. That way, if there's anything left on the fabric, it can be rinsed off afterwards.
    "Love is not love which alters when it alteration finds, or bends with the remover to remove."

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,930
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't think I would use a metal pot, but maybe boil the water, then put into a plastic wash tub and add the retayne, check the temp and add the fabric!

  10. #10
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    12,943
    Blog Entries
    2
    why do people keep buying those washers and dryers? i keep hearing they are nothing but trouble. mildew or mold, etc. I certainly hope they keep on making the top load ones if i ever need new ones.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.