Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Help me buy a sewing machine

Ok - these are the facts:

- I already have a sewing machine that is in perfectly fine, working order and I know how to use it now, mostly, lol. It's a featherweight.

- I only have about 200 dollars to spend on a new one. Had a little surprise in my mailbox today, woot!

- The only reason I even want a new one is to learn machine quilting (since I've been told it's not suggested that you do that with a FW, and I don't have the feet for it anyway), *plus* I'd like to have extra stitch options, like decorative ones, or side to side ones (clearly, I'm still learning the lingo, too.) I am interested in sewing other things like aprons, bags, wallets, towels, etc. Not looking to be a fashion designer, but you know, gift-y type stuff.

- I'm learning to sew, so nothing too complicated, but it'd be a bonus if it came with extra feet like zipper foot, the free motion quilting foot, walking foot (?), etc. In other words, I'd like to get a little bang for my buck, hehe.

Know anything that might fit that bill? Did I leave any important info out?

Blog Entries
    Many like Brothers and you should be able to get a good one for that price. I would not get one with the embroidery, I made that mistake...and returned it,

Blog Entries
    Several department stores carry entry level machines with a few decorative stitches for around $150 to $200.

Blog Entries
    My "back-up" sewing machine is a Brother CE5000 Project Runway model. It came from Walmart and was very reasonable in price. (under $120). It has lots of decorative stitches. I enjoyed using it while I was waiting to get enough money for the BabyLock I wanted.

Quote Originally Posted by carolaug