Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: HELP need your opinion on Singer model 457

  1. #1
    Super Member oldswimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,235
    Hi all,
    I know that you kindred spirits will be able to help me.

    I am cleaning out my MIL's house...she passed a year ago.

    She has a Singer model 457 in a fold out cabinet. I know many of you have older machines and say they are workhorses, and that you love them. Is this one of "those" machines?

    It has zig zag, and blindhem and needle that moves to Left, Center or Right. It looks to be in superb conditon, as my MIL was so good at keeping everything in tip-top shape.
    So.... what do you think.... should I request this for myself? I don't think any of the others involved would want it, and I need to be able to tell my DH how wonderful it would be to have one, if indeed that is the case. I trust your opinions! Thanks so much!

  2. #2
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    My experience is any vintage metal Singer is a wonderful machine.

  3. #3
    Super Member Maride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,883
    It sounds to mee you know already how good the machine is. It is always good to have a back up machine for when your is at the shop. I have an older singer because is great when using upholstery materials and denim for a rag quilt. Is this argument enough?

  4. #4
    Super Member oldswimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,235
    Quote Originally Posted by Maride
    It sounds to mee you know already how good the machine is. It is always good to have a back up machine for when your is at the shop. I have an older singer because is great when using upholstery materials and denim for a rag quilt. Is this argument enough?
    definitly! Thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member allie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    west hamlin, wva
    Posts
    380
    Blog Entries
    1
    yes it would be great machine

  6. #6
    Power Poster Ninnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Athens Ga
    Posts
    11,424
    great machine, get it!!! lol

  7. #7
    Super Member Charlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PNW (I wish it was the Ozarks!)
    Posts
    6,510
    Blog Entries
    6
    Go the "sentimental" route if you need to make the argument. Tell him that you'd love to be able to make something with a machine that the world's best mom in law used!! ;)

  8. #8
    Senior Member Loretta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Surfside Beach, South Carolina
    Posts
    680
    Yes, it would be nice to have.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bright, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    229
    Do you have room for it? If you do - do you even need to ask? A vintage Singer that's been looked after is gold!

  10. #10
    Super Member oldswimmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks all, that is just the info I was looking for. I will find room for it... after all, I could sew a nice table cloth for it and use it as a side table if I didnt use it very often.
    Everyone seems to be in agreement. A big thank you for the opinions!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.