Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 76

Thread: help! opinions needed!

  1. #1
    Senior Member QuiltingCrazie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany (Military Spouse)
    Posts
    737

    help! opinions needed!

    I spent time today cutting out an apple core quilt with the accuquilt. I have never done an apple core and some of my fabric was directional. This a surprise Christmas present for the DH. While I'm doing the layout I realize all the novelty is going one direction and the black the other, so I wasted time and material with the directional prints. In trying not to waste more before I start sewing there are four blocks that are the noticeable ones. They would not capture the print if I did them the other way. Does it look horrible if I leave them? What do you think? I know it's my quilt but still wanted opinions!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails davids-quilt2.jpg  
    *Rachel*

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    19,615
    It looks great to me! I think the directional print just makes them easier to see from all sides of the quilt.

  3. #3
    Senior Member QuiltingCrazie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany (Military Spouse)
    Posts
    737
    Thanks!! I needed that!
    *Rachel*

  4. #4
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,604
    Yep, I agree - fabulous quilt! There isn't a clear "top" and "bottom" on most quilts, so having patterns that go in multiple directions is perfect.

  5. #5
    Super Member Abby'smom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oak Ridge North, TX
    Posts
    6,287
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    It looks great to me! I think the directional print just makes them easier to see from all sides of the quilt.
    me, too -- good-looking quilt!!
    diane

  6. #6
    Member BryeLynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Ocala, FL
    Posts
    21
    I think it looks great. We are so much harder on ourselves then others. I am sure they won't notice and will love it.
    Don't wait for inspiration to get started - get to work and the inspiration will come.

    www.SewStitchCreate.com

  7. #7
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    33,285
    Blog Entries
    16
    unless it's a wall hanging, the blocks can go any direction as to be seen from different sides
    Nancy in western NY

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N. Florida
    Posts
    4,667
    Blog Entries
    45
    I love your quilt. It's like a big boy's I Spy.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Sdwill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    SW Arkansas
    Posts
    331
    It looks great! Leave it be.
    Sharyl

  10. #10
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,073
    I think it looks like you planned it that way, kind of like an I spy quilt. I bet he would love it just like that!
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.