Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help - Size Blocks and how many ??? >

Help - Size Blocks and how many ???

Help - Size Blocks and how many ???

Old 09-07-2012, 01:28 PM

Default Help - Size Blocks and how many ???

I am making a a quilt that has a large block in the center, 52 x 60.5. I want to make a On-Point" blocks in the border. I would use the traditional method of placing setting triangles in the 4 corners to make the block on-point.

I want these on-point blocks placed all the way around the 52 x 60.5 center. After that, I want to place a 2 inch outer border JUST before the quilt drops off the sides of the bed, mattress top size is 76 x 80, so I figure this 2 inch border would need to be placed at the 74 X 78 mark.

Since I am not good with figuring this out, Would I need the blocks to be 6.5 inches to fit around the 52 x 60.5 large rectangle in the center? If so, would that be "cut" or "finished". IF NOT, what size blocks should I make and how many down/across? See attached diagram of what I am speaking of, I hope it make sense. You can reply in a private message if you would like.
Attached Thumbnails untitled.jpg  
Old 09-07-2012, 02:03 PM

[QUOTE=bevster;5497986] CHANGES - CHANGING WORDING OF MY QUESTION
I am making a a quilt that has a large block in the center, 52 x 60.5 unfinished, 51.5 X 60 finished. I want to make a On-Point" blocks in a border right next to the 62X60.5 unfinished large rectangle. I would use the traditional method of placing setting triangles in the 4 corners to make the block on-point.

I have no idea of how to figure what size blocks to make prior to sewing on the on-point triangles around the block, which make it On-Point. The center block is such an unusual size. The blocks would go all the way around the Center Rectangle. The blocks need to fit inside the 74X78 mark just prior to the drop off the sides of the bed, since I am going to place a 2.5 inch solid border right at the 74X79 mark. The mattress top is 76x80.