Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
help with templates >

help with templates

help with templates

Old 09-11-2015, 05:47 PM

Unhappy help with templates

I'm new to Quilting Board-I started a sampler quilt about 30 years ago(!) and recently unpacked the pieces and fabric-everything is in good condition, and I only need to finish 3 squares to complete it. I am trying to do a 16 inch square of a log cabin pattern, but all I can find is measurements for 12 inch squares-I'm lost trying to figure the size of strips to try and finish this. Thanks for any help
Old 09-11-2015, 06:14 PM

search log cabin patterns on google.
Old 09-12-2015, 04:14 AM
Power Poster

Some people don't pre-cut the strips to length first, they use a cut as you go method. Since you are just making one block, I would do this. Here's a link on the how-to:
http://www.marthastewart.com/907228/...-pattern-quilt
If you feel more comfortable, make the block up to the 12 inch size (12.5" is the measurement including the seam allowances), then use the method above to add the rest of the strips. You can always just oversize the block and trim it down to the size you need by centering the block and trimming the outside row evenly.
Old 09-12-2015, 04:22 AM
Power Poster

One interpretation - make all the logs 2" finished (cut them at 2.5").
Attached Thumbnails 16-inch-log-cabin-block.jpg  
Old 09-12-2015, 04:58 AM
Power Poster

I just noticed the title on your post. Are you actually using templates? I would just cut 2.5" wide strips at lengths of 2.5", 4.5", 6.5", 8.5", 10.5", 12.5", 14.5" and 16.5" as shown in diagram above.
Old 09-12-2015, 05:44 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by dunster View Post
One interpretation - make all the logs 2" finished (cut them at 2.5").
In that illustration, the red "hearthstone" is not centered - two sides have three more strips and two sides have four more strips. Does it matter?