Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Help! Top thread keeps breaking!

  1. #11
    k3n
    k3n is offline
    Power Poster k3n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Somerset, England
    Posts
    10,714
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    You didn't change the bobbin, did you? I once fixed a machine that was having this problem because the user had inserted the wrong plastic bobbin (one for another machine). The two bobbins looked very similar so it was an easy mistake to make.
    You are a GENIUS and I am an idiot! Changed back to the bobbin that came with it and sewed on the whole binding - no problem! Thanks so much! AND to everyone else for the ideas and support as well. Now I'm off to order some spare bobbins that fit! :lol:

    And Tisha - I apologised to it humbly, begged it's forgiveness and proclaimed my never ending love - and I swear it purrrrred as it sewed! :wink:

  2. #12
    Super Member Rose Marie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Clay Springs AZ
    Posts
    3,086
    Are you using a walking foot? I have trouble if I dont.

  3. #13
    Power Poster Mousie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16,935
    Quote Originally Posted by k3n
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    You didn't change the bobbin, did you? I once fixed a machine that was having this problem because the user had inserted the wrong plastic bobbin (one for another machine). The two bobbins looked very similar so it was an easy mistake to make.
    You are a GENIUS and I am an idiot! Changed back to the bobbin that came with it and sewed on the whole binding - no problem! Thanks so much! AND to everyone else for the ideas and support as well. Now I'm off to order some spare bobbins that fit! :lol:

    And Tisha - I apologised to it humbly, begged it's forgiveness and proclaimed my never ending love - and I swear it purrrrred as it sewed! :wink:
    K, was here earlier, and came back to see if you got the problem solved. I see you have...YIPPPEEE!!! Prism99 is good, I agree!!! :D
    I didn't leave a reply first time, bc, one, i forgot...hubby needed help, and 2- when it comes to mechanical...better off calling ghostbusters, than me. I can use a screwdriver, cut a board, sometimes nail a nail...and paint...not much help, beyond that. Glad problem is solved! :D

  4. #14
    Super Member Tink's Mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    9,418
    Quote Originally Posted by k3n
    I DID change the bobbin! I'll go and change it back to the metal one that came with it! I thought the one I put in would fit - they're the universal ones I got and used fine with my old machine; will let you know how i get on! Thanks!
    :oops: I always tell a customer that a universal bobbin is not advisable for most machines.....They are made to specs that are not close enough to make a consistant stitch on touchy machines.....Save your money and purchase the correct bobbins, it will save you in aggrivation.

  5. #15
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,456
    Blog Entries
    1
    Great! I will remind myself all day long of my genius status!!! :P

  6. #16
    Super Member quilter1962's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,302
    Quote Originally Posted by k3n
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99
    You didn't change the bobbin, did you? I once fixed a machine that was having this problem because the user had inserted the wrong plastic bobbin (one for another machine). The two bobbins looked very similar so it was an easy mistake to make.
    You are a GENIUS and I am an idiot! Changed back to the bobbin that came with it and sewed on the whole binding - no problem! Thanks so much! AND to everyone else for the ideas and support as well. Now I'm off to order some spare bobbins that fit! :lol:

    And Tisha - I apologised to it humbly, begged it's forgiveness and proclaimed my never ending love - and I swear it purrrrred as it
    sewed! :wink:

    K

    So pleased you got your baby up & running bet you feel a right Rodney DOH LOL.
    What model do you have - mine doesn't purr LOL :wink:

    Tisha

  7. #17
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,758
    Blog Entries
    9
    K...so glad you found out the problem...bless you prism!!!....it is always in those pesky little details isn't it??? :lol: :lol:

    And Tish....you probably did't pet your machine just right.. :wink:

  8. #18
    Super Member butterflywing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    currently central new jersey
    Posts
    8,703
    Quote Originally Posted by sandpat
    K...so glad you found out the problem...bless you prism!!!....it is always in those pesky little details isn't it??? :lol: :lol:

    And Tish....you probably did't pet your machine just right.. :wink:
    my machine repair guy told me that if the bobbin chase is metal, the bobbin should be metal. if the bobbin chase is plastic, the bobbin should be plastic.

  9. #19
    omak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central Washington State
    Posts
    6,060
    Quote Originally Posted by k3n
    OK - I'm stabilising the edge of a quilt before binding and my top thread keeps breaking. Tension is set where it always is for this - 3.5. I changed the needle for a new one, I even tried a different spool of thread in case it was 'faulty' although it's the same brand I always use and never had trouble before. And I unthreaded and rethreaded in case something was wrong there. It sews for about a foot then snaps! Grrrr! I'd just SID quilted the whole quilt with it - no problem; it's a new (to me) machine I recently bought off a friend and I can't believe it's faulty; any ideas, anyone?
    Did you change the length of the stitches? Sometimes, sewing through so many layers of material, the small stitches we use for piecing just cannot handle two layers of binding (+ the seam allowances when you hit them) + two layers of quilt/front and back (plus any seams you run into) and the batting on top of that! I lengthen my stitches from the 2 or 2.5 for piecing all the way up to 4 ...

  10. #20
    omak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central Washington State
    Posts
    6,060
    should have read the whole thread, I see :roll:
    I have never heard of a plastic bobbin case, but my repairman did tell me that if my machine came with plastic, stay with plastic, and when the machine came with metal bobbins, stay with metal bobbins - - the reason being is the timing in the bobbin area is timed for those particular weights.
    I'm glad you got your machine up and running again.

    One time, I had a machine that I couldn't get to sewing. I kept it laying around for months and then finally I REALLY needed to sew with it. I tried one thing after another, INCLUDING trying to tear it apart, before I decided I should pull out the owners' manual and start from the very basics. I shouldn't tell y'all this, but it turned out that I had put the needle in backwards! I was home alone, but you can just imagine what kind of an idiot I told myself I am!
    The real miracle is that I EVER figured out that the needle was backwards ... cannot tell you how I figured it out yet, but I did! so, I am sort of proud of myself, even if I am an idiot! LOL

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.