Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HELP Top Thread tangling in bobbin case

  1. #1
    Moderator Up North's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North East Lower peninsula of Michigan
    Posts
    6,150
    Yesterday my machine sewed fine today the top thread tangles in the bobbin case I changed the needle, rethreaded,both bobbin and top blew out the lint any other ideas?

  2. #2
    Super Member Arleners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Stony Brook, NY
    Posts
    1,207
    Double check your top tension setting. Sometimes this gets moved without notice. Also, when you rethread the top, Make sure the pressure foot is up when you place the thread through the tension plates. Hold the thread at the top and the bottom and make sure it has popped into the disk. Then lower the foot to thread the needle.

    For the bobbin, make sure you have the thread facing in the right direction. I have accidently reversed the bobbin and it caused a lot of frustration.


  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Be sure the bobbin thread is unwinding off the bobbin the correct way. I found that makes my thread tangle if it isn't. My bobbin thread has to be unwinding counter clock wise. Be sure your bobbin is inserted correctly. Post when you find a solution. I like to keep all fixes in a file for future help.

  4. #4
    Moderator Up North's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    North East Lower peninsula of Michigan
    Posts
    6,150
    Thanks! I found the solution but I don't know what it was! LOL I changed the spool of thread and it worked. Might have been something with the way I threaded it or just the thread itself, altho I was in the middle of an embroidery design so had to do over. At least it is working now.

  5. #5
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have found a "bad" spot in spools of thread... I tried everything I could think of and changed the bobbin and fixed the problem... so I looked closer at the thread and found some "bumpy spots" on it... I never would have noticed at a distance. The spool of thread was fine, as the messed up part was wound on my bobbin :roll:

  6. #6
    Super Member joeyoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,263
    Glad you found the solution. Nothing more frustrating than having your machine foul up when you are in the mood to create or have a project you need to get done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.