Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Help... What am I doing wrong

  1. #1
    Senior Member kkbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    323
    OK Saturday afternoon I attended a quilt class, the instructor had us drop the feed dogs and to put our stitch length all the way to zero so our feed dogs would not move.

    I practiced and practiced and the top stitching looks very nice but the bottom stitches are loose in spots and sometimes have a bump at the corners.

    I put in a brand new needle at the beginning of class, what am I doing wrong?

    I am using a White Style Maker Pro and I cannot increase/decrease the tension on the bobbin, there is no place to do it.

  2. #2
    Marjpf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles Area
    Posts
    1,916
    My first instinct is to completely re-thread the machine. Sometimes it works. On my Pfaff, if the bottom stitches are loose, it's usually because it didn't like the way I threaded it that time.

  3. #3
    Junior Member sandiphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    232
    By the sounds of it, your top tension is too loose.

  4. #4
    Super Member Ditter43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crystal River Florida
    Posts
    9,466
    If the bottom thread is loose it's not the bobbin tension, it's the top tension. If your feed dogs are dropped I would lower the top tension one number at a time until your bottom stitches are even. Make sure your thread is going through the tension discs and is threaded correctly. If you still have problems, let us know.

    Ditter

  5. #5
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    13,001
    Blog Entries
    1
    My machine requires that the foot-picker-upper-lever (don't u just love my technical lingo? lol) has to be pushed in a certain position - otherwise mine does the same thing. Did you check your manual?

  6. #6
    Senior Member kkbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    323
    I checked my manual and it has nothing about it, very frustrating

  7. #7
    Super Member LoisN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Hannibal, Missouri
    Posts
    1,267
    Is your top thread and bobbin thread the same? I thought I was being frugal on one of my first projects and put old thread on the bobbin. It did the "loopy" thing. Just a thought.

  8. #8
    Power Poster cjomomma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Posts
    16,526
    Blog Entries
    2
    When ever my machine does that it means it is time to clean the lint out of the bobbin area. I clean it put the bobbin back in and it runs just fine.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5,840
    Blog Entries
    1
    i find,that after i check the tension, it is usually operator error, like me going around curves to fast! which causes the "eyelashes" or "train tracks" looking mess on the back only.

  10. #10
    Senior Member kkbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    323
    I cleaned and oiled the machine before going to this quilt class, it could be I was going too fast, I will post a picture tomorrow and you can tell me what you think.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.