Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Homespun fabric question >

Homespun fabric question

Homespun fabric question

Old 10-10-2015, 09:04 AM

Default Homespun fabric question

http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B...ilpage_o00_s00

There has been this homespun fabric that keeps catching my eye.. over and over again. I found it on sale at Amazon so I broke down and bought it. I got 2 fat quarter bundles, one in the blue and one in the red. I am going to put them together in a quilt - hopefully for myself ha ha

I have never used "homespun" fabric before. Is there something special I need to know about it before I start? Or can I handle it just like any other cotton quilt fabric?
Old 10-10-2015, 09:47 AM

I'm using homespun in two quilts right now. I would advised washing it - it's a little looser weave so I think there would be some shrinkage. Also, clean out your machine more than usual. I get a lot more "stuff" in my bobbin area from it. I wash my fat quarters in mesh lingerie bags on gentle, warm. Again, lots of thread.
Old 10-10-2015, 09:55 AM
Power Poster

Homespun is a looser weave so it ravels more. Try not to handle it too much. It's great for rag quilts because it frays beautifully. If you're not making rag quilts you might want to use a bigger seam allowance (if your pattern allows) or use starch and/or fray check. This article has some great information that might help you - https://thecuriousquilter.wordpress....-have-history/
Old 10-10-2015, 11:27 AM
Power Poster

The two previous posts are correct. Looser weave and much more unraveling.
Old 10-10-2015, 02:00 PM

Thanks for your input... now I am wondering if I want to use the fabric... extra fraying - - aacckk!

Thanks for the link I will check that out
Old 10-10-2015, 06:46 PM