Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hoop for hand quilting >

Hoop for hand quilting

Hoop for hand quilting

Old 01-03-2014, 05:49 AM

Default Hoop for hand quilting

What would you recommend?
Old 01-03-2014, 05:53 AM

I meet with a bunch of handquilters once a week. They tend to use oblong shaped ones. For me, I've tried every shape and size I could think of and found everyone to feel awkward. Then someone said.. "then don't use one". So far (knock wood) it's worked ok for me. I do pen the quilt well before I start.
Old 01-03-2014, 05:54 AM

I have a cheap round wood one from JoAnns. I've been quilting for 10+ years now and this is the second one I've had to buy (first broke) so for the $$ I think I'm ahead of the game. It's a bit larger than elbow to fingers across. I can have a 12" block loose in the hoop and quilt the whole block. I have no stand or anything as I like to lean back in my chair and quilt.

It's what works for me. If you're just starting out, try it. You may progress to something else down the road but at least you won't be out major $$ for something that might not be right for you.
Old 01-03-2014, 06:08 AM

I like the 14 inch round hoop. I've bought several older wood ones on line for just a few dollars. The older ones are made to last.
Old 01-03-2014, 07:05 AM

First started with an 18 incher & still use that size. Tried the oval one but perfer the 18. Whatever feels comfortable to you works!
Old 01-03-2014, 07:20 AM
Banned

The 14" No-Slip hoop from Joann's. Is about $20full price. Use in in all my hand quilting classes. Students love them. Made of plastic. Worth the money.
Old 01-03-2014, 09:44 AM

I also tried many in my hand quilting days, and found the 14" round to be the best fit for me.
Old 01-03-2014, 09:58 AM

I don't use a hoop. I hand baste or pin, then just quilt with it in my lap. I've purchased hoops and tools designed to avoid the constant pricking of my lower fingers, but I can't master the techniques
Old 01-03-2014, 01:20 PM