Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
HoopSisters Mystery quilt, anyone else doing this? >

HoopSisters Mystery quilt, anyone else doing this?

HoopSisters Mystery quilt, anyone else doing this?

Old 06-02-2014, 05:21 PM

Default HoopSisters Mystery quilt, anyone else doing this?

I have signed up for the Hoopsister's Mystery Quilt. This is my first time going one.

I have ordered a fabric bundle from them too to make it a bit easier for me.

Has anyone else signed up?

I got an email from my LQS and decided to give it a try.
Old 06-02-2014, 08:44 PM

i have been tempted but i never have time for such things my BOM years ago sits
Old 06-03-2014, 06:22 AM

I am doing it. I have done several Hoop Sister projects, this is a really good price. I am not putting the backing fabric on, it is more work than I want to do and will just put a large backing material. There are both appliqué and embroidery designs for each block. I am doing the 5" square as I don't really need another queen size quilt. If you are not putting the back on each quilt you do not have to turn off your scissors or bring the thread to the top when you start the design. The video links they have are pretty good explaining how to finish the sashing on the back. I have not had luck putting monofilament thread in the bobbin. The first weeks designs look great.
Old 06-06-2014, 10:37 AM

I am curious about it too, especially now that they are dangling that Janome 15000 out there. I know you aren't supposed to ruin the mystery, but would you guys minding sending me pics of the first block privately? I am struggling with the thought of spending that much money on a mystery right now when I have so many other projects on my plate. If the first block strikes my fancy, I will be more inclined to sign up.
Old 06-07-2014, 08:42 AM

romille, I do not feel comfortable sharing photos. This is my first mystery with Hoopsisters and I do not want to break the rules.