Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to change a belt on a Featherweight?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,406
    I have a Featherweight 221 and I would like to change the belt on it. The one that is currently on it has alot of little cracks all over plus I think that it is worned down because when I go to wind a bobbin on it the bobbin winder doesn't engage. I think it is just because the belt has become to thin. Anyway if someone could give me some basic instructions I would like to change it. I already have the belt and thought I would ask before I just start trying it on my own. It doesn't look to hard and I thought an ounce of prevention would be better. So if anyone cares to share with me I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks so very much,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter

  2. #2
    Power Poster dreamer2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WHERE THE SUN ALWAYS SHINES
    Posts
    10,562
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by candlequilter
    I have a Featherweight 221 and I would like to change the belt on it. The one that is currently on it has alot of little cracks all over plus I think that it is worned down because when I go to wind a bobbin on it the bobbin winder doesn't engage. I think it is just because the belt has become to thin. Anyway if someone could give me some basic instructions I would like to change it. I already have the belt and thought I would ask before I just start trying it on my own. It doesn't look to hard and I thought an ounce of prevention would be better. So if anyone cares to share with me I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks so very much,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter
    Sherrly
    contact Billy at lostin51
    send him a PM

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,406
    I went ahead and changed it, no problem just needed all the muscle I could mustard. :-D

    Thanks,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bikini Bottom
    Posts
    5,746
    I am glad you were able to get it changed out. Sometimes the aluminum will "white rust" in the threads of the bolt and give you a hard time. But if you ever run into that again just put a drop of oil on the spot and warm it up with a hair dryer and then it will come out for you. Always put a dab of grease or anti seize on the screws that go into the body of the machine just to prevent it from ever happening again.

    Billy

  5. #5
    Senior Member luvnquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Junction City, OR
    Posts
    481
    Blog Entries
    1
    On a similar note, at my local singer retailer (sew/vac shop), he had the belt priced at $17.95 and I said "I can get it online for $7.00" at which point he dropped it down to $10.00- I don't mind paying a little more at a local shop and I'm not one to bicker over prices but that was a big difference so I guess it doesn't hurt to ask!!

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,406
    Quote Originally Posted by Lostn51
    I am glad you were able to get it changed out. Sometimes the aluminum will "white rust" in the threads of the bolt and give you a hard time. But if you ever run into that again just put a drop of oil on the spot and warm it up with a hair dryer and then it will come out for you. Always put a dab of grease or anti seize on the screws that go into the body of the machine just to prevent it from ever happening again.

    Billy
    Billy thanks for replying. I do have one question. After I put the new belt on it is soooooooooooo tight that it doesn't want to turn when I try to sew with it now. Is there someway to loosen it just a little so that it will turn? I sure don't want to burn out the motor.

    Thanks,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bikini Bottom
    Posts
    5,746
    Quote Originally Posted by candlequilter
    Quote Originally Posted by Lostn51
    I am glad you were able to get it changed out. Sometimes the aluminum will "white rust" in the threads of the bolt and give you a hard time. But if you ever run into that again just put a drop of oil on the spot and warm it up with a hair dryer and then it will come out for you. Always put a dab of grease or anti seize on the screws that go into the body of the machine just to prevent it from ever happening again.

    Billy
    Billy thanks for replying. I do have one question. After I put the new belt on it is soooooooooooo tight that it doesn't want to turn when I try to sew with it now. Is there someway to loosen it just a little so that it will turn? I sure don't want to burn out the motor.

    Thanks,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter
    You should have some adjustment in the motor but if you bought an Alphasew belt (the red aftermarket belt) they run a 1/2" smaller than the advertised length.

    Billy

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,406
    Quote Originally Posted by Lostn51
    Quote Originally Posted by candlequilter
    Quote Originally Posted by Lostn51
    I am glad you were able to get it changed out. Sometimes the aluminum will "white rust" in the threads of the bolt and give you a hard time. But if you ever run into that again just put a drop of oil on the spot and warm it up with a hair dryer and then it will come out for you. Always put a dab of grease or anti seize on the screws that go into the body of the machine just to prevent it from ever happening again.

    Billy
    Billy thanks for replying. I do have one question. After I put the new belt on it is soooooooooooo tight that it doesn't want to turn when I try to sew with it now. Is there someway to loosen it just a little so that it will turn? I sure don't want to burn out the motor.

    Thanks,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter
    You should have some adjustment in the motor but if you bought an Alphasew belt (the red aftermarket belt) they run a 1/2" smaller than the advertised length.

    Billy
    I bought one on ebay that was suppose to be for featherweights and the only numbers on it is 194144 and the belt is black.

    Thanks,
    Sherryl

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,406
    Got it all adjusted and it is running smoothly.

    Thanks,
    Sherryl
    Candlequilter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.