Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How Difficult Are.... >

How Difficult Are....

How Difficult Are....

Old 02-15-2012, 05:17 AM

Default How Difficult Are....

I found some cute McKenna Ryan blocks I would like to try. How difficult are her quilt blocks? Could an adventurous beginner be successful without overwhelming frustration? Thanks for your info. m
Old 02-15-2012, 05:31 AM

I don't know which blocks you are referring to, but, I am a beginner and I have found that anything is possible. Just take it one piece at a time. If you get frustrated, just walk away. When you have calmed down and are ready to focus again, go get it! I wouldn't buy all the fabric for a full quilt just yet. Use your stash or buy a few fat quarters and try one block. If you get too frustrated, wait until you have more experience. If you find it easy, go for it. Good luck in whatever you decide. And, please, post pictures.
Old 02-15-2012, 05:31 AM

Post a link or something so that we can see what you are asking about. BUT my motto is NOTHING VENTURED NOTHING GAINED! Go for it.
Old 02-15-2012, 05:54 AM

I have McKenna Ryan's "In Full Bloom" that was given to me as a gift, and I am not finished with it. I also finished one of the blocks from "Calling Me Home" as a gift. Here is what I believe.
I am what I consider an intermediate quilter, and I would consider most of her quilts a bit of a challenge.
I have seen her quilts done a little "sloppier" than others and I have seen them done with precision.
I am fairly picky, and I am a precision piecer where my stuff is concerned.
These quilts entail a lot of tracing work with a fusible interfacing, doing the fusing, some free edge quilting, and some free-motion quilting.
I think if you are patient, and diligent, you will be able to do these quilts. If you get frustrated, take a break, like many suggest with ANY quilt. Yes, they can be difficult, but the beauty of her designs, outdoes most of the frustration.