Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How do you use an octagon template? >

How do you use an octagon template?

How do you use an octagon template?

Old 10-06-2011, 09:59 AM

I just bought a pattern and it has an octagon template to use in fussy cutting. I'm afraid I may have bit off more than I can chew. Do you just put the template down and cut around it? There must be a way so it doesn't slip and slide on you. I just knew all of you would have some suggestions. I'm fairly new at this and to tell you the truth I have my husband cut my material because the darn ruler always slips on me. I start out fine but by the time I'm finished the ruler always slips at the end. Hopefully, you ladies and gentlemen will have some answers for me. Thank you all so much.
Old 10-06-2011, 10:19 AM
mim

I assume you are doing a fussy cut I spy quilt -- when I need to get the picture just right, I draw lines around the template and then cut. Or glue a small piece of fine sandpaper on the bottom to keep it from slipping. Some stores have "dots" to stick on rulers.
Mim
Originally Posted by susieqgc1
I just bought a pattern and it has an octagon template to use in fussy cutting. I'm afraid I may have bit off more than I can chew. Do you just put the template down and cut around it? There must be a way so it doesn't slip and slide on you. I just knew all of you would have some suggestions. I'm fairly new at this and to tell you the truth I have my husband cut my material because the darn ruler always slips on me. I start out fine but by the time I'm finished the ruler always slips at the end. Hopefully, you ladies and gentlemen will have some answers for me. Thank you all so much.
Old 10-06-2011, 10:29 AM

I just bought some of those dots for a couple of my longer rulers. The only problem is you have to pick it up to reposition. Can't just slide it along but I will have to say it does help.
Old 10-06-2011, 11:35 AM