Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to fill in triangle gaps when going on a diagonal? >

How to fill in triangle gaps when going on a diagonal?

How to fill in triangle gaps when going on a diagonal?

Old 08-18-2015, 06:45 PM

Default How to fill in triangle gaps when going on a diagonal?

I am new to quilting, only doing it for about a year, and I have come across a quilt that I would like to imitate but I am not sure how to do one thing. When making rows based on a diagonal, how do you fill the triangular gaps to make the quilt top square?

Thanks

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 08-19-2015 at 02:17 AM. Reason: remove copyright image, should have used link
Old 08-18-2015, 06:53 PM

Not as hard as you think.

There's special rulers for these.... I think Omnigrid makes one, Fons + porter, etc. Have fun!
Old 08-18-2015, 07:14 PM

Would you just make another disappearing 9 patch square and then use the ruler to cut it in half then sew it into the row?
Old 08-18-2015, 07:19 PM
Power Poster

Bonnie Hunter has information on her site www.quiltville.blogspot.ca on figuring out setting triangles. She also has great free patterns under the free pattern tab.
Old 08-18-2015, 08:10 PM

Originally Posted by candy_cane2011 View Post
Would you just make another disappearing 9 patch square and then use the ruler to cut it in half then sew it into the row?
Sew it into the row first, then sew the rows together. Trim the jagged edges after sewing the rows together making sure to leave the 1/4 inch seam allowance. If you cut the triangle in half you'll lose your 1/4 inch seam allowance along the outer edge.
Old 08-19-2015, 01:48 AM

I responded to your PM with details and tutorial links. I didn't use a special ruler, I just used a large square ruler.
Old 08-19-2015, 02:00 AM

Originally Posted by quiltsRfun View Post