Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How many color catchers? >

How many color catchers?

How many color catchers?

Old 11-13-2016, 04:30 PM

Default How many color catchers?

I just made a 54x54 inch rag quilt that has reds, sage greens, and cream colored fabrics. I used 2 layers of Cream colored flannel for the batting.
The reds concern me so I bought the only color catchers I could find, which are manufactured by Shout.
shoukd I use two of these color catcher packets to wash this rag quilt? Do I need to add new color catchers to the wash when I wash the quilt a second time? Third time?
i have never used color catchers before so any advice is greatly appreciated!
thank- you
Old 11-13-2016, 04:47 PM

I would probably start with one color catcher and go from there. If it comes out with color - wash again with another catcher and proceed until no more color shows up on the catcher. Make sure if you have any bleeding to not dry the quilt prior to it's subsequent washing(s). Heat from the dryer will set the bleeding colors and that's not what you want!
Old 11-13-2016, 04:53 PM

Oh gosh ! Thank- you for telling me not to dry it!!! Will the color catcher turn a color if there is bleeding?
Old 11-13-2016, 04:55 PM

Originally Posted by Nanny's dollface View Post
Oh gosh ! Thank- you for telling me not to dry it!!! Will the color catcher turn a color if there is bleeding?
Never made bad my question . Obviously it does after reading the response again on my phone
thank-you again!
Old 11-13-2016, 05:02 PM