Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How realistic is it to make a go at the long arm quilting business? >

How realistic is it to make a go at the long arm quilting business?

How realistic is it to make a go at the long arm quilting business?

Old 08-23-2011, 06:40 PM

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and have been bitten by the quilting bug. I'm interested in making some supplemental income and preparing for another career after retirement from the military...hopefully a long way off:)

Here is the scenario.please tell me your thoughts(especially those who are doing long arm work now or have dealt with hiring machine quilters).

I have no experience at this time. I buy an apqs millenium with a computer. I practice on my own projects and charity projects but hope/plan to use the computerized system to quilt for a business as soon as I feel would not harm anyone's hard work with my lack of experience and produce a good product And practice free form for myself during that time.

How hard is it to break in...is there enough demand in the metro dc area to at
least do 4 quilts a month...enough to break even on business expenses. Can I be as busy as I want to be in this area or is the demand just not high enough.

I'm going to talk to quilt shops but I wanted to talk to people that aren't also hoping to sell me something:)

The other idea is to put my business on the side burner, buy a Bailey and a frame and just do it for myself. I would be happy if I were busy enough in the business to pay off the equipment each month and anything over that would be a bonus. I was very excited about doing something I find so interesting, but I also want to be realistic about my chances of success.

Could you tell me your thoughts?
Old 08-23-2011, 06:47 PM
Power Poster

If you are depending on quilt business to pay for your LA then I would say don't. Just my opinion. But I can't know your determination or drive to succeed so follow your instincts.
Old 08-23-2011, 06:51 PM