Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to store fabric and why. >

How to store fabric and why.

How to store fabric and why.

Old 08-04-2015, 02:12 AM

Default How to store fabric and why.

Being a newbie I would be interested in knowing how people store their fabric and why. Is there a method that cares for the fabric best? I've done a search here on QB and it seems that I may be wrong for storing my fabric in closed plastic tubs....am I correct?

Last edited by ruby2shoes; 08-04-2015 at 02:18 AM.
Old 08-04-2015, 02:45 AM
Power Poster

The problem with plastic is if there is humidity the fabrics can become damp then mold. If you open them, move fabrics around often you can avoid that- and leave the lids off when its very humid. I've used Rubbermaid totes for years. I also have book cases with stacks of fabric. The things to avoid is moisture and sunlight. ( sunlight fades fabrics) refolding your fabric periodically will help avoid permanent creases and faded folds. If you are using/handling your stash regularly most problems are avoided. Long term storage is a whole different situation with other consideration
Old 08-04-2015, 04:23 AM

I store my fabric on open shelves that are NOT affected by direct sunlight. I work from my stash daily so the fabric is moved around, refolded, etc., quite often. The only fabric I store in a tote are large backing pieces and a couple of bolts of white or beige. I hate the smell that the plastic totes give to the fabric. If I had the space, I'd love to have storage cabinets with glass doors but my quilting room (aka The Bat Cave) is very small and I keep a small stash. There are a number of posts on here that show some great storage solutions.
Old 08-04-2015, 04:31 AM

I store mine in plastic and have no problems but I am constantly touching and rearranging. I am with my fabric like Schrooge McDuck is with his money! I love it and play with it!
Old 08-04-2015, 04:44 AM
Power Poster