Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • how to teach beginners to quilt >
  • how to teach beginners to quilt

• how to teach beginners to quilt

Old 01-14-2014, 07:03 AM

Default how to teach beginners to quilt

I am a volunteer quilting teacher for local sr. center. We are an area of many different ethnic groups and languages. Two new enthusiastic Chinese ladies came in yesterday. One of them spoke good English and helped her friend who spoke a few English words. I loved them instantly, but am concerned about showing them how to use rotary cutter. I would feel horrible if one of them got cut seriously. Should I have them use scissors and templates to keep on the safe side? They are both so enthusiastic and seem to learn very fast even though I am having to use a sort of sign language. I have a tendency to talk really fast and am trying to slow down. It is so exciting to see their eagerness to learn. Any suggestions?
    Old 01-14-2014, 07:24 AM

I love working with my Chinese friends. They are so eager to learn. Have you considered a "glove" to protect.
    Or can you show them a tutorial on using a rotary cutter? If the one speaks good English you should be able to tell
    her all the precautions & she can explain to her friend. They will learn just as quickly as anyone. You learned & so
    will they. Do not limit them. Have fun.
    Old 01-14-2014, 07:31 AM

I agree with marilynr, they are Chinese adults, not 5 year old children. I am sure they will understand sharp.
    Old 01-14-2014, 07:33 AM
    Power Poster

Just tell the one who understands English the best that if they get their fingers in the way of the rotary cutter, it will be the same as getting their fingers in the way of a meat slicer because that is exactly what will happen. Not only will it be a costly trip to the ER but the material will have to be washed and possibly ruined if the blood isn't removed soon enough. I have become very patient with myself when using my rotary cutter.