Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: how to trim quilts for binding

Question how to trim quilts for binding

I am fairly new to quilting and have made 3 lap quilts for my bridesmaids as part of their gifts. I have got them all quilted together but have no idea how to trim them up for binding. Do I have to square them up? Do I just cut beside the topper? Please help! Thanks
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 06-25-2012 at 06:00 PM. Reason: update title to reflect contents

Blog Entries
    Could you post a pic? I do square up the corners and even out the sides according to the borders. Trimming up the sides and making them straight gets the quilt ready for binding.
    Joyce

Squaring up a quilt top is always easier if you can see it being done. Here's a U-Tube video made just for beginning quilters: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPlo79fz6P0

And here's a wonderful Quilting Board Post on this very topic: www.quiltingboard.com/.../squaring-up-quilt-top-prior-binding-t937

Hope this is helpful. If you have more questions, please write back! We're here to help! If you do write, a photo of one of the quilt tops would be helpful.

Lucky bridesmaids, getting quilts for gifts! Wish I had been so lucky! Kudos to you for making the quilts, and Congratulations on your wedding. May your marriage be blessed with happiness and longevity.

MacThayer

BTW, very cool gift for the bridesmaids. I am sure they will love it.

Blog Entries
    you can trim a bit off if just a plain border near the edges. not if pieced blocks go out to the edge of course.
    i usually trim 1/4 inch from the edge of the quilt top, leaving a bit of batting showing to fill the binding.