Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How to use pantographs? >

How to use pantographs?

How to use pantographs?

Old 03-04-2010, 01:27 PM

I'm getting brave enough to try something other than a meander pattern on my longarm. Can I get some advice on how to use pantographs? things that maybe youtube videos and tutorials don't cover.
Old 03-04-2010, 01:30 PM

I am new at it, but was given a top that really seems to help. Don't look at where you are, look at where you are going. In other words, keep your eyes a bit ahead of the laser light. Your hands will automatically follow. If it's a small enough circle, I am training myself to look at the whole thing, not at any point on the line.
Old 03-04-2010, 02:08 PM

Found this video while looking on there at other stuff..... should give you some good tips!!

http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to-st...achine-232910/

Rachel
Old 03-04-2010, 02:11 PM
Banned

I'm fairly new to it myself, but here's things I've learned so far:

- buy some cheap fabric and batting for practice. I always practice whatever pattern I'm going to do several times before trying it on my actual quilt. This is also really necessary for getting down how to move (i.e. take steps) without jerking the machine off pattern, which I still struggle with.

- I tried originally doing it with a pointer stick, and found it impossible to do. I use the Grace laser now, and it's awesome -- much easier to follow.

- similar to what Marjpf said, don't think about the exact point that you're at. I try to think of each movement as a whole, meaning if I'm doing an arc, then I make the arc as a whole movement rather than trying to follow the line perfectly/exactly. It's more important that your stitching is smooth, rather than it following the pattern perfectly, IMHO.

- don't grip too hard or get tense, because you'll really start to feel it after a while. My best work is done when I'm relaxed and tension free. Put on some music -- it really helps!